Road of the Lost

Featured
Road of the Lost
Author(s)
Age Range
12+
Release Date
October 18, 2022
ISBN
9781534484993
Perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince, this gorgeous young adult fantasy follows a girl who discovers she’s spent her life under an enchantment hiding her true identity on her quest into the magical Otherworld to unlock her powers and discover her destiny.

Even the most powerful magic can’t hide a secret forever.

Croi is a brownie, glamoured to be invisible to humans. Her life in the Wilde Forest is ordinary and her magic is weak—until the day that her guardian gives Croi a book about magick from the Otherworld, the world of the Higher Fae. Croi wakes the next morning with something pulling at her core, summoning her to the Otherworld. It’s a spell she cannot control or break.

Forced to leave her home, Croi begins a journey full of surprises…and dangers. For Croi is not a brownie at all but another creature entirely, enchanted to forget her true heritage. As Croi ventures beyond the forest, her brownie glamour begins to shift and change. Who is she really, who is summoning her, and what do they want? Croi will need every ounce of her newfound magic and her courage as she travels a treacherous path to find her true self and the place in the Otherworld where she belongs. 

Editor review

1 review
enthralling YA fantasy
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
5.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
ROAD OF THE LOST is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy that brings the reader on epic journey through a world of magic and self-discovery. Croi is a brownie being raised by an old woman who does not care for her amidst the world of humans. After a fae finds her in a dream, she begins to realize that she is not actually a brownie, but something else - what else is not yet clear. The glamour on her has broken, and she is being compelled forward by a summoning spell of an unknown caster.

As she sets out, she begins to encounter other magical creatures, some of which cause her harm and others with their own selfish purposes - as well as some that may be friends. Her journey will take her deep into the Otherworld, and as she travels, she will try to discover what and who she really is.

What I loved: This is such a lush story of magical creatures and an epic journey. Croi has lived her life without knowing much of anything about herself, except that she looks like a brownie, even if she does not seem to fit the description. She longs for love and kinship, something that has always been denied her. As she sets out into the world, she realizes that she has been sheltered and that other creatures may often wish her harm, even as she longs for their care. Her journey is a difficult one for this reason, learning about the perils of the world, betrayal, and how to guard herself while also trying to discover who she really is.

As Croi comes into her own and begins to understand herself better, so does her story evolve, changing from one of relative simplicity into one where she assumes the reigns on who she will be and who she will trust. The story matures with her, transforming it from something simplistic into something much more complex and twisty.

There are some intriguing side characters that would be interesting to explore more in future books. Themes around family/defining family, love and connection, betrayal and trust, the truth and the ways it can warped, and self-discovery are quite thought-provoking throughout. Croi has never truly understood who/what she is. As she begins to change and learn about what she is, she also begins to determine for herself what that means and how she will interact with the people who may want to connect with her in various ways. Her naivete evolves through loss of trust and betrayals along her path, as she becomes more discerning over who she will allow to become closer to her. Throughout it all, she still longs for love and connection - but on her own terms.

The world-building is quite lush and immersive, pulling the reader into this world, its history, and the ways in which it has been warped by those in control. As an outsider, Croi is more easily able to see the flaws in what people believe and the ways that history has been rewritten, noticing its flaws amidst the clever told "truths." For instance, while a statement may be technically true, it could be taken as something else entirely, depending on the choice of words. The history of the Otherworld is a fascinating one, which has also been susceptible to the telling. While some major plot points are resolved, there are some that remain with a bit of a cliffhanger to keep the reader eagerly awaiting the next book!

Final verdict: With lush world-building and thought-provoking themes, ROAD OF THE LOST is an enthralling YA fantasy about self-determination and magic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account