New Dragon City

New Dragon City
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 04, 2022
ISBN
978-0316376686
Buy This Book
      
Set off on a high-stakes, action-packed adventure in this story about friendship, survival, and fighting for ones you love, perfect for fans of Wings of Fire and How to Train Your Dragon
No one predicted the dragon apocalypse. The dragons came suddenly and decimated the world as we knew it, including New York City. Now, three years later, Noah, his hardcore survivalist father, and a ragtag group of survivors are barely scraping by in this new reality. Kids scavenge not only for materials in abandoned homes but also for leftover books at the library. Adults spend their time establishing a make-shift society and defending their shelter... with any means available. At least for the few months the dragons are hibernating, until it’s no longer safe aboveground.

Noah has seen the damage these creatures can do firsthand. When it comes to dragons: It's kill or be killed. But a chance encounter between Noah and a young dragon forces him to question everything he thought he knew. With rumors spreading that there’s a group of survivors living in harmony with dragons instead of hiding underground, Noah teams up with his fire-breathing ally to find out if peace between humans and dragons is really possible. But the division runs deeper than scales versus skin because trying to follow his heart might just cost Noah his family too. If Noah and his father can’t see eye to eye, can he really get humans and dragons to?

Editor review

1 review
Humans vs dragons can harmony be achieved?
(Updated: July 30, 2022)
Overall rating
 
4.7
Plot
 
5.0
Characters
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
What I Liked:
Are you a reader who loved the Wings of Fire series and How to Train your Dragon? Do you like middle-grade novels that tackle more vital than yourself questions, stories about survival, and a significant overall situation that makes you think, what if? Noah and his father are part of a group of humans who survive the take over of the world by dragons hiding in subway tunnels during the time of year dragons are awake and the rest above ground, scavaging for whatever can be found. Until one day, everything changes, the dragons arrive sooner, the dad decides to stay behind to see the mom, and Noah, desperate to help, does.
Final Verdict:
What unfolds is a story of thinking if what you have always known is true. Who is the monster in this story? Are the dragons more extensive than life and burn the city to the ground? Or is it the humans who hunt and kill dragons all in the name of protection and, let's face it, fear? New Dragon City is a fast-paced middle-grade novel centered around family, truths, and striving for a better path for all. It kept my attention and is well thought out and perfect for middle-grade readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account