Lift, Mix, Fling!: Machines Can Do Anything

Lift, Mix, Fling!: Machines Can Do Anything
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
March 08, 2022
ISBN
978-0062457103
Buy This Book
      
How do you make work easier? With machines, of course! Acclaimed author Lola M. Schaefer and award-winning illustrator James Yang explore various types of machines and their numerous, complex functions. A fun and interactive STEM-themed picture book for fans of David Macaulay and Byron Barton, and anyone curious about how things work and what makes things go.
Machines are everywhere. They are the spoons that scoop and the trucks that dump. They are pulleys and ramps and even a giant rocket ship flying through outer space. How many simple and compound machines can you find?

Lift, Mix, Fling! introduces readers to the six different simple machines: the screw, the lever, the wedge, the pulley, the inclined plane, and the wheel and axle. Lola M. Schaefer’s lively, rhyming text and James Yang’s bold and inventive illustrations make this STEM topic easy to understand and fun to explore. Lift, Mix, Fling! illustrates how machines function and why they are important—a necessary building block in science. A fun and educational choice for curious children, for classrooms, and for family story times.

Includes backmatter about simple and compound machines. 

Editor review

1 review
delightful picture book about machines
Overall rating
 
4.7
Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Learning Value
 
5.0
LIFT, MIX, FLING!: MACHINES CAN DO ANYTHING is a delightful picture book that discusses machines in simple terms. The book starts with describing simple machines and evolving into those that are more complex. For instance, a wedge is a simple machine, as are wheels. It also covers a few more complex (compound) machines such as tractors and ships.

What I loved: Whimsical drawings alongside simplified information about machines make this an entertaining and educational read. The book aims to distill the basics around simple vs compound machines. The text rhymes, making it roll off the tongue and adding to the reading fun. The text is printed in a large and clear font that makes it easy to read aloud. With bright colors and plenty of machines to view, this is sure to delight young readers, particularly preschoolers.

Final verdict: Clever rhymes, whimsical illustrations, and bright colors make this a charming picture book read about machines. Educational and delightful, preschoolers are sure to enjoy this fun read!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account

Latest Additions