Wooden: A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections on and Off the Court

 
0.0
 
4.7 (3)
2220 0
Wooden: A Lifetime of Observations and Reflections on and Off the Court
Age Range
10+
Release Date
February 28, 1997
ISBN
0809230410
Buy This Book
      
Presents the wisdom of basketball coach John Wooden. This book offers lessons that he learned throughout his career at UCLA, and life as a husband, father, and teacher.

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Life Lessons From an Amazing Man
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by JJLR



Review of Wooden



By: John Wooden



           



In the book Wooden, by the legendary UCLA basketball
coach John Wooden, life lessons are given throughout. At first this book
appears to be about only basketball but in reality it is much more. Wooden
gives examples of how he perceived different situations and how those who read
his book can become better people.



            John
Wooden was born in rural Hall, Indiana in 1910. This was where he began his
observations on how his parents, teachers, and coaches handled lifes situations.
These observations would effect how he lived out the rest of his life. He later
went to the Purdue
University
and became an
All-American guard there. From there he became a coach at UCLA where he coached
from 1948 until 1975 all the while winning 10 national championships: the most
ever won by any one NCAA Division One basketball coach to date. After his
coaching career was over he traveled the country giving motivational speeches
to groups of all ages who wanted to learn from his many life-enhancing instructions.
On June 4, 2010 John Wooden died of natural causes, almost fittingly, at the Ronald Reagan
UCLA Medical Center
at the age of 99. Even though Wooden is gone his
ideas still live on today because of their timeless meanings and through his
great book on how to live life: Wooden.



            This book is not written
in the traditional chapter by chapter style that readers are accostomed to.
Each example Wooden gives the reader has a title explaining the next section of
the book. These sections last from one paragraph to multiple pages depending on
how important that lesson was to him and how he believed a reader could use it
in their lives. Wooden also reveals the key to success in his book in the form
of a pyramid along with a rational of each block that forms it. These examples
are helpful to anyone who reads this book no matter their athletic or
intelectual abilities.



Our opinion of Wooden was that it was a
well put together and informative book. These smaller sections made it more
interesting, easier to comprehend, and easier to read than a traditional book.
Overall this book made a large impact on each person that read it and will
continue to do so for the rest of our lives because of these quality life
lessons Wooden has given us here in his book.



            We enjoyed this book very
much the entire time we read it. Each and everytime you picked it up you would
wonder what new life lesson you would learn and be able to incorporate into your
everyday life. Because of this we would highly reccomend this book to anyone
who likes sports, wants to become more successful in life, or even just become
a better person all around.  If you fit
into one of these categories, or even of you dont, this is an amazing book
that you will definetly take great life lessons away from; so enjoy a
spectactualr book and begin reading Wooden today.



Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
John Wooden's Reflections Inspire
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Dani

John Wooden was a coach for UCLA basketball. He won ten national championships and gives tips on how to live a good life on and off the court. He was a very successful man.


We enjoyed Wooden very much because it was an easy read. What we liked about this book is that it had segments of helpful tips instead of chapters. Also, we liked how it made you think of your life and possibly how to change it. We would recommend Wooden to anyone who has an interest in sports, and wants to read an experienced coachs observations on life, sports, and coaching.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
John Wooden is Perfect
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Chubs


Wooden by Steve Jamison


In Wooden, the short biography of Coach John Wooden, readers learn through him simple and straight forward ways to live the most meaningful life. Coach Wooden lived what he preached. His message spread to all parts of the country. Wooden was an extremely selfless person who put others above himself at all times. He did his best not to complain and to stay positive about every situation. Not simply athletes, but all people can find inspiration in this book.


I enjoyed this book a lot. It gave me insight to many different things in my life. I actually took a step back and looked at my life from someone elses shoes for once. It made me realize that I am not even close to an ideal person. There are few people, either living or dead, who could put themselves on Coach Woodens level. He was and still is a very humble man, a quality to be admired. He has a lot of small things to remember about life. Some of these concepts seem almost too simple to be relevant to life.


Coach John Wooden learned everything he knew from his father. He respects his father more than any other person. One thing that Johns father said was to abide by the two sets of threes. They were, 1) Never lie. 2) Never cheat. 3) Never Steal. And the second set was, 1) Dont whine. 2) Dont complain. 3) Dont make excuses. These are simple things to follow. But we have all broken them numerous times and not even realized it.


I recommend this book to all athletes, even hockey players. Woodens philosophies are for all sports, not just basketball. And all people can follow his life goals. I believe that if everyone was a John Wooden, we would have a perfect world. This book should not only be read by athletes but by all people. It talks about teaching, mentoring, and coaching. At some point in our lives, everyone will have done at least one of these three. Even if it is a younger sibling looking up to you or a student asking for help on their next exam. This book should be remembered for its profound but very accurate outlooks on life.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
Boy, Everywhere
 
5.0
"Sami has a happy and secure life in Damascus, Syria. His mother is a teacher, his father is a doctor,..."
That Thing About Bollywood
 
4.0
"Sonali misses her grandfather, who ran a video rental store that specialized in Bollywood films, so she enjoys the family..."
Thanks a Lot, Universe
 
4.0
"Brian has anxiety at the best of times. He manages at school, and was on the basketball team, but he..."
One Girl
 
3.5
"In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in..."
In My Life
 
4.0
"Based on the Lennon and McCartney Beatles' tune, this picture book showcases the lyrics against a background of a family..."
Upstaged
 
4.0
"Shira is a really good singer, but she is nervous about performing in front of others. When her best friend..."
100 Dogs: Playful Pups to Count
 
5.0
"This comically illustrated book doesn't have a plot, per se, but is a fun romp through lots of different "kinds"..."
Bear Bottom (Fun Jungle #7)
 
5.0
"Teddy and his family, along with Summer and her family, head off to Yellowstone Park. J.J.McCracken is interested in buying..."
All's Happy That Ends Happy
 
4.0
"In this seventh and final book in the series, we catch up in Sweden with Dani, who has recently been..."