How Baseball Works

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1360 0
How Baseball Works
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 22, 2008
ISBN
1897349211
Buy This Book
      
From grand slams to sacrifice bunts, from the legends of the game to its hottest young stars, from the composition of the infield dirt to what puts the curve in a curveball, How Baseball Works delves into all aspects of America's favorite game. Its engaging, science-based approach gives fans young and old the inside skinny on how to throw a strike, find the sweet spot on a bat, read a home run pitch, decode stats, run the bases and chase down flies, choose the best bat, ball, and glove, and much more. The fun-filled, fast-paced text is enhanced by features such as “Quick Hit” factoids, “Star” baseball cards with stories of the game’s great players, "Try This!" tips and activities that help youngsters improve their game, and exciting photos of players past and present. “Rules and Regs” and “Baseball Talk” sections introduce the game’s sometimes arcane rules and always colorful lingo.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Homerun
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0
Here's just the thing for baseball fans, but also for anyone who wishes they knew more about the game. In fun, short snippets, you can find out basic facts, history, legends, tips, experiments, and all kinds of quirky info. For example, say you realllly want to catch a souvenir home run or foul ball at a big game. You should sit near the foul lines and wear a glove. BUT your chance of actually catching a foul ball is a mere 1 in 1,302. Oh, well.

Speaking of that baseball, there are all kinds of major league rules saying what size and weight it must be, and how bouncy it should be. A major-league baseball is used only for six pitches on the average, before it's replaced. There's so much here (and it's so fun to read) about baseballs that a reader can barely tear herself away to read on. But the chapter on bats and gloves is just as fascinating. Batters used to "cork" bats (drill holes and fill with cork) to make them lighter . . .? The first leather catcher's mitt was made by a saddlemaker in 1869 . . .?

Baseball history is an eye-opener, too. You can find out why teams are called "white sox" and "red sox" (clue: it has to do with socks worn by teams); what female baseball players wore in the 1870s, and so much more. There's a whole chapter on baseball science, which discusses pitching, different types of fastballs, and running.

A chapter on ballparks explains quirks at the different fields. Baseball legends are fascinating (find out why Anaheim Angels fans bring toy monkeys to the games). Last but not least, the game's rules, regulations, and terminology are explained.

This is an enjoyable read for both baseball fans and for those who are clueless about the game.
TM
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."