Just Pretend

 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
183 0
Just Pretend
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 18, 2021
ISBN
978-0316538855
Buy This Book
      
Fans of Real Friends and Be Prepared will love this energetic, affecting graphic memoir, in which a young girl uses her active imagination to navigate middle school as well as the fallout from her parents' divorce.

Tori has never lived in just one world.

Since her parents' divorce, she's lived in both her mom's house and her dad's new apartment. And in both places, no matter how hard she tries, her family still treats her like a little kid. Then there's school, where friendships old and new are starting to feel more and more out of her hands.

Thankfully, she has books-and writing. And now the stories she makes up in her head just might save her when everything else around her—friendships, school, family—is falling apart.

Author Tori Sharp takes us with her on a journey through the many commonplace but complex issues of fractured families, as well as the beautiful fantasy narrative that helps her cope, gorgeously illustrated and full of magic, fairies, witches and lost and found friendships.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Drawing Her Own Story
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
In this graphic memoir, we see Tori as she is going into 7th grade. She and her friend spend a lot of time creating pretend worlds, both in written stories and in playing. This is an escape for Tori from her family. Her parents are divorced after bickering a lot, and while her dad's new girlfriend is nice, it's still not a great family dynamic. Her older brother is especially troubled, and Tori has to tag along to her older sister's ballet classes since her mother won't let her stay home alone. Even these lessons are a point on contention. As things worsen, Tori distances herself from her best friend, who has her own struggles and secrets.
Good Points
There are so many good graphic novels out now, and an ever increasing number of graphic memoirs. Copeland's Cub, Tatulli's Short and Skinny, Bell's El Deafo, Harper's Bad Sister and, of course, many of Raina Telgemeier's books all give a closer look into the lives of the author/illustrators. They also provide a perspective into different points of history, and this seemed to have a '90s sort of vibe to it, especially based on some of the middle grade novels that were being read!

The illustration style is very appealing, and I especially like the color palette. It's interesting that in the book, the main character is also working on a graphic novel, and we get to see a little of that style as well. Using writing as an escape from reality is almost as good as using reading! (Or, some would say, better!)

Friend drama and family drama are always big draws, especially for graphic novels. It is good to see more books about how divorce affects families, since many more children have to deal with that than have to deal with the death of parents. Hand this one to readers who liked the depiction of shared parenting in Murphy's Dear Sweet Pea or Draper's Blended, or who enjoyed the creative energy of Barshaw's Ellie McDoodle series.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ready, set, off we go! ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jolina can't take Claudine's bullying any longer! The taunts and...
Leaving England
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometime around now an unnamed virus has laid London and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A female-run society. An ambitious girl driven to become its’...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the realm of Ryuu within the snow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Jackie planned for every situation on her solo road-trip...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green meets Laurie Halse Anderson in this award-winning, "haunting,"...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Capture his heart. Steal his crown. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Before the undead attacked, Hazel's life was simple: look out...

Latest Member Reviews

Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
"What worked: This haunting memoir is about two young sisters who helped each other survive the Holocaust. Herta is deaf..."
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
"SO. MANY. FEELINGS STICKERS is a fantastic and fun collection of stickers around emotions. With 2,700 stickers, it is difficult..."
More Ryan's World of Science: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
5.0
"MORE RYAN'S WORLD OF SCIENCE features science experiments that are Ryan approved. Not only is this book full of science,..."
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
"SLOW DOWN contains 50 moments in nature that people will miss on a normal day. Everyone is so busy with..."
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
"PIPSQUEAKS, SLOWPOKES, and SQUEAKERS highlights the underdogs of the animal kingdom. There's an Amau from who is small enough to..."
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
"BENEATH THE WAVES includes everything ocean related, from Secrets of the Shell, to poems, to creatures and their food sources...."
Horse Power: How Horses Changed the World
 
5.0
"HORSE POWER is a well-illustrated book that talks about the large part horses play in our history. The delve into..."
Weird But True Ocean
 
5.0
"'Weird but True! Ocean: 300 Fin-Tastic Facts from the Deep Blue Sea' by National Geographic Kids is rife with incredibly..."
A Shot in the Arm (Big Ideas that Changed the World)
 
4.3
"Disease isn't new. Pandemics aren't new. Even vaccinations aren't new. But when you're in grade school, everything is new! (Well,..."
Go Wild! Sea Turtles
 
5.0
"GO WILD! SEA TURTLES is a really fascinating book that teaches young children all about sea turtles. The book gives..."
Go Wild! Pandas
 
4.7
"GO WILD! PANDAS is a cool nonfiction picture book with lots of interesting facts about giant pandas. The book discusses..."
How to Talk to a Tiger... And Other Animals: How Critters Communicate in the Wild
 
3.7
"HOW TO TALK TO A TIGER... AND OTHER ANIMALS is an intriguing non-fiction picture book that teaches about the many..."
365 Words for Clever Kids!
 
4.7
"'365 Words for Clever Kids!' by Dr. Meredith L. Rowe and Monika Forsberg, provides a great service. It capitalizes on..."
RESPECT: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul
 
5.0
"'R-E-S-P-E-C-T: Aretha Franklin, the Queen of Soul' by Carole Boston Weatherford, art by Frank Morrison, includes incredible images, highlighting the..."
Yosemite: Ready-to-Read Level 1 (Wonders of America)
 
5.0
"'Wonders of America: Yosemite' by Marion Dane Bauer, illustrated by John Wallace, will make readers eager to take a vacation..."
What's Inside a Flower?
 
4.7
"'What's Inside a Flower? (and Other Questions about Science & Nature)' by Rachel Ignotofsky, is a beautifully illustrated book with..."
Loveblock
 
4.0
"LOVEBLOCK is an adorable, engaging book that is full of both animals and love. Each page talks about how love..."
Sharkblock
 
5.0
"SHARKBLOCK uses a unique approach to teach children about the various species of sharks living under the sea. With colorful..."
Welcome to New York: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO NEW YORK is a delightful board book adventure with the Little Engine that Could, as she heads to..."
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is an adorable Little Engine book that takes the reader on a trip through some of the..."