The Ocean in Your Bathtub

The Ocean in Your Bathtub
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
May 19, 2020
ISBN
978-0062953360
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for curious kids!

From shore to suburb, the ocean connects all of us in unexpected ways—through the weather, our water, our food sources, and more! In their signature informative and child-friendly style, the award-winning creators of A Hundred Billion Trillion Stars explore how the ocean affects everyone, no matter where they live, and how everyone affects the ocean. Fans of Jess Keating's Shark Lady and Kate Messner’s The Brilliant Deep will be hooked. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice to share during homeschooling, in particular for children ages 4 to 6. It’s a fun way to learn to read and as a supplement for activity books for children.

Did you know that oceans cover 71 percent of our planet and contain 97 percent of the Earth’s water? That seven out of every ten breaths you take contains oxygen that comes from oceanic plant life? No matter how far from the ocean you live, it is part of your life, every single day. And you are part of the ocean’s life, too. Every time you flush the toilet or throw something away, you might be sending it to the ocean—and every time you do a good deed, such as pick up litter or recycle, you are helping the ocean!

Acclaimed creators Seth Fishman and Isabel Greenberg explore how the Earth’s five oceans affect daily life for everyone on the planet, presenting surprising information about the ocean ecosystem in a fun, accessible story.

Editor review

1 review
educational look at the ocean
Overall rating
 
4.0
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
3.0
Learning Value
 
5.0
THE OCEAN IN YOUR BATHTUB is an informative picture book about how we interact with the ocean, often without realizing it. The book discusses the water cycle, the prevalence of the ocean (and how plants in it make most of the oxygen we breathe), and all sorts of interesting facts. The book finishes by talking about how we can help preserve the ocean and the animals who live within it by making small changes.

What I loved: This book has tons of information in it. As such, it would be really great in an elementary school classroom setting to introduce all of these topics about the ocean. There is a lot to learn and discuss within, and it could inspire all sorts of fun classroom activities. This also makes it great for learning at home. The illustrations are bright and colorful, which adds interest for the picture book crowd. The text is large, bold, and clear, making it easy to read aloud.

Final verdict: A great learning tool, THE OCEAN IN YOUR BATHTUB is an interesting exploration of the many ways we interact with the ocean- sometimes without being aware of it. This picture book would be a great starting point for classroom learning and activities around the ocean- and taking care of this important resource.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account