Into the Clouds: The Race to Climb the World’s Most Dangerous Mountain

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
209 0
Into the Clouds: The Race to Climb the World’s Most Dangerous Mountain
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 21, 2020
ISBN
978-1338207361
Buy This Book
      
In 1953, as two men summit Mt. Everest for the first time, Charlie Houston and a team of mountaineers carve a path up the second-highest peak on Earth: the deadly K2. Four Houston, reaching the top of K2 is a lifelong dream, an obsession that began 15 years earlier on his first expedition there.

Since then, another American expdition has fallen apart on the remote, windswept mass of rock and ice.

Now, Houston's team follows in their tracks. With the summit in their grasp, a vicious storm and a sudden illness puts their own expedition on the edge of disaster, turning their qust to conquer a mountain into one of the most daring rescue missions ever.

Three expeditions and a high-mountain rivalry. Three attempts at K2, one of the most grueling challenges the planet has to offer. Filled with displays of incredible strength and heart-stopping danger, Into the Clouds is the thrilling story of the men whose quest to conquer a mountain became a battle to survive the descent.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Climb K2 without ever leaving home
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
The K2 mountain in the Himalayas is the second highest in the world after Mt. Everest, and is significantly more dangerous. In 1938, a young American medical student, Charlie Houston, lead an expedition to survey the area and decide the best way to ascend the mountain. The following year, the Karakoram expedition led by Fritz Wiessner attempted to climb to the top, but the mission was beset by personality problems and poor weather, and ended in the death of Dudley Wolfe, who was left behind by his fellow climbers after a series of disastrous circumstances. Three sherpas also died in an attempt to bring him back. In 1953, Houston mounted another expedition, choosing his men wisely in the hopes that they would not turn on each other the way Wiessner's men did. He selected six men, including Art Gilkey, a geologist from Iowa, and Dee Molenaar, who left a wife and daughter back at home. While parts of the trip went well, the group had to wait out weather and also had to deal with the illness of Gilkey, who developed blood clots in his leg and was unable to travel under his own steam. Instead of trying to get to the top, the team attempted to get Gilkey to safety. Unfortunately, his body was swept away after a horrific incident when six of the climbers fell and were saved by one man being able to hold onto the rope connecting them, and being able to pull them to safety. After that expedition, Houston gave up climbing, and once an Italian team was able to make the summit, the spotlight was off the Karakoram expedition.
Good Points
This book is not only filled with a wealth of technical information about the intricacies of climbing a mountain (Literal tons of food! Sunglasses to prevent snow blindness, which sounds awful! Why you need way more pitons that you ever expected! Also, outfit your sherpas a whole lot better. And you can wear your extra socks as mittens in a pinch.), but is told in a very exciting way. Climbing a mountain has never seemed like a good idea to me, but Houston's adventures certainly make for riveting reading.

There are strong glimpses into the men involved in the climb as well. Houston's motivations are examined, and there's even a touch of philosophy about why people engage in extreme climbing. Dee Molenaar's desire just to get off the mountain and back to his family was especially poignant reading, since he passed away on January 19, 2020, as I was reading this book. The mission with Wiessner, though not a major portion of the book, was a helpful inclusion, since it showed what happened when communication wasn't good and there was tension between the climbers.

Readers of Roland Smith's Peak series need this book to show the realities of an actual climb, and the photographs will interest those readers a lot! Fans of other survival stories, such as the Wallace's Bound by Ice or Lourie's Locked in Ice, will find this to be filled with the same type of riveting survival details those books have. This almost makes me want to find another copy of Ullman's Banner in the Sky; at least Houston's men had gloves and proper hiking boots!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."