Jonny Lambert's Construction Site

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
220 0
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
1+
Release Date
March 03, 2020
ISBN
978-1465490940
Buy This Book
      
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy diggers working together on a very busy building site.

Turn the pages and lift the flaps to watch the big-wheeled digger shovel and scoop up the rubble with its big metal bucket, see how the long-armed crane stretches up high with a very heavy load, and watch the road roller chug slowly along to flatten the ground. With busy vehicles pushing, pulling, tipping, rumbling, chugging, scooping, and beeping, little ones will love learning about what happens on the building site, and joining in to make the noisy digger sounds.

This hard-wearing board book has large flaps for babies and toddlers to lift and sturdy pages for little ones who are beginning to turn the pages. They'll reveal the busy diggers doing different jobs and working hard to build a shiny new house! The short text is fun to read aloud and share with toddlers, while labels develop vocabulary and help little ones to learn the names of all their favorite diggers and trucks.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

educational lift-the-flap fun!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks that are involved. The book features many large flaps to lift as it goes through the process of house construction. The last page spread features all the construction trucks from the book with their names again (there are nine of them!). The illustrations feature Lambert's usual style with many bright colors and appearing textures (images are flat but the colors are not).

The text gives not only the steps, but also the sounds made by the vehicles, such as "Rumble! Rumble!" for the bulldozer as it arrives and "Rattle! Rattle!" as the forklift carries a load of bricks.

What I loved: There is a lot to enjoy about this book, which is a huge hit at our house. The book shows the construction of a house through many steps, which are great for children to understand and follow. Toddlers love processes and order, and this book gives them in spades. The book also features a bunch of trucks, which children will enjoy naming. The addition of sounds for each truck also adds some fun that children will love to repeat.

The flaps are very sturdy and large, making them easy for little fingers to grasp and lift. The scenes are equally large, adding a great visual onto each scene. Parents will also enjoy the large and clear font used throughout that make it easy to read aloud. They (like me) might also learn about the names of certain trucks and what they are used for (such as a dumper, which I had not heard of before!). This kind of delightful learning experience is special to enjoy with little ones.

Final verdict: Sturdy and filled to the brim with colorful trucks, sequential actions, and delightful sounds, this lift-the-flap book is educationally fun. Highly recommend for toddlers and young readers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."