Ultimate Secrets Revealed: A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
182 0
Ultimate Secrets Revealed: A Closer Look at the Weirdest, Wildest Facts on Earth
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 16, 2018
ISBN
978-1426331831
Buy This Book
      
The world is full of mind-blowing marvels and this book uncovers our planet's most peculiar phenomena, puzzles from the past, eye-opening inventions, astonishing animals, and so much more!

Did you know that caterpillars liquefy when they turn into butterflies? That humans shed eight pounds of skin every year? That there's a funky forest in Poland where all the trees are mysteriously crooked? That space smells like burnt plastic? Our world is filled with strange, bizarre, and weird realities. But what do they mean? WHY are they important? And what exactly is the secret behind them?

National Geographic Kids presents a jam-packed new series perfect for fans of Weird But True! and 5,000 Awesome Facts. With cool, action-packed photos, tons of awesome information, and filled to the brim with the weirdest facts ever, this book takes readers behind the scenes of the world of the truly bizarre, to reveal the truth behind our planet's wildest and wackiest. Meet the bizarre bacteria that make Yellowstone National Park's Morning Glory Pool pop with radiant color, discover the mysteries behind the Sphinx of ancient Egypt, learn why the beaches of the Maldives glow bright blue, how tornadoes are so powerful, and so much more! And with Q&As with in-the-field experts, fantastic infographics, exciting stories, and more, this book presents a fresh way of looking at our bizarre planet. So, get ready to experience our not-so-secret world.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Weird but true facts!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
ULTIMATE SECRETS REVEALED has so much information about the weirdest things compiled into one book. The main topics the book hits are our world, astonishing animals, the past, feats beyond belief, space, the body, food, numbers uncovered, and inventions. The photography work is stunning and the layout of the book holds your attention throughout the whole thing.

This book had me grossed out, intrigued, awed, and all kinds of different feelings, which only made me want to read more. The author even talks about bacteria in your belly button! This would be a fun and educational gift for any child with a curious mind. To be honest, I loved it as an adult and think other adults would get a kick out of it too.


Final Verdict: I would recommend this to fans of weird facts, those with curious minds of how things work, and those who love to learn about things you most likely won't hear in a classroom.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...
The Brightsiders
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen rockstar has to navigate family, love, coming out,...
IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...
The Survival List
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sloane Weber is devastated when her older sister dies...
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed YA debut pits a deadly siren princess and...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy...
Kingdom of Souls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay. The...
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
"This heartwarming story deals with friendship, empathy, caring, nurturing and...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two young...
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The third installment of the Making of America series, Abraham...

Latest Member Reviews

Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."
The Rift
 
3.3
"THE RIFT is a unique YA fantasy that takes place on Black Water Island, a place prized for the herd..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
"THE BEAUTIFUL takes place in New Orleans, primarily following a young woman, Celine. Celine fled France after a terrible event..."
 
5.0
"Eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson goes to Madrid, Spain with his family in order for his mother to reconnect with the country..."
Glow of the Fireflies
 
3.3
"GLOW OF THE FIREFLIES is a YA fantasy that follows a teenaged girl, Briony, who has no memories from before..."
Creep
 
3.3
"CREEP is an interesting YA thriller/horror that follows an incoming high school freshman, Olivia (Liv). Olivia lives in a small..."
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
 
4.7
"Sam Jones and Zoe Miller are seniors in high school, but they've never had a reason to communicate during their..."
 
4.7
"Michigan Manning just wants to play hockey. Unfortunately, the high school she attends in the upper peninsula of Michigan has..."
When You Ask Me Where I'm Going
 
5.0
"WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I'M GOING is an absolutely gorgeous collection that reaches to touch the soul. In poems,..."
A Match Made in Mehendi
 
4.0
"A MATCH MADE IN MEHENDI is a light-hearted contemporary romance. Simi aspires to be an artist, but right now, she's..."
The Survival List
 
4.0
"A worthy read. The Story: Sloane is dealing with her sister's suicide when she finds a list her..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
5.0
"I’ll Give You the Sun is a masterpiece of the Young Adult genre, perfectly incorporating the feel of what it..."
A Treason of Thorns
 
4.3
"A TREASON OF THORNS is a dark and enchanting YA historical fantasy. Violet comes from a long line of Caretakers,..."
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
 
4.3
"THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK is a stand-alone companion novel to THE SKY IN THE DEEP. A historical fantasy..."
Kingdom of Souls (Kingdom of Souls, #1)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF SOULS is a dark epic fantasy that follows Arrah, a girl whose mother is the Ka-Priestess and whose..."
The Missing Season
 
3.3
"Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the..."
Tell Me How You Really Feel
 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."