The Diamond and the Boy

The Diamond and the Boy
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 02, 2018
ISBN
978-0062659033
Buy This Book
      
Told in a unique dual-narrative format, The Diamond and the Boy follows the stories of both natural diamond creation and the life of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of a revolutionary diamond-making machine. Perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, and On a Beam of Light: A Story of Albert Einstein.

Before a diamond is a gem, it’s a common gray rock called graphite. Through an intense trial of heat and pressure, it changes into one of the most valuable stones in the world.

Before Tracy Hall was an inventor, he was a boy—born into poverty, bullied by peers, forced to work at an early age. However, through education and experimentation, he became one of the brightest innovators of the twentieth century, eventually building a revolutionary machine that makes diamonds.

From debut author Hannah Holt—the granddaughter of Tracy Hall—and illustrator Jay Fleck comes this fascinating in-depth portrait of both rock and man.

Editor review

1 review
All About Diamonds
Overall rating
 
4.3
Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Learning Value
 
5.0
Told in alternation POVs, THE DIAMOND AND THE BOY tells the story of how the diamond is created and the history of H. Tracy Hall, the inventor of a diamond-making machine. The story is told in a poem format that is both educational and intriguing.

The illustrations are eye-catching and the facts are relative to those interested in diamonds and learning. The reader learns things that they might've not known, like that H. Tracy Hall was bullied. This is a heartfelt story about H. Tracy Hall with the addition of how diamonds form. It is both educational and interesting.


Final Verdict: This is perfect for fans of diamonds, learning new things, history, and innovation. This book even got the wheels in my brain turning with new facts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account