Heroes For My Daughter

 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
1127 0
Heroes For My Daughter
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
Release Date
October 25, 2016
ISBN
978-0062439277
Buy This Book
      
#1 New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer brings together a remarkable group of heroes with one thing in common: they were ordinary people who became extraordinary.

Brad was inspired by the birth of his daughter to curate this collection, but you don’t need to be a parent to treasure it—Heroes for My Daughter is perfect for children, parents, teachers, and anyone looking for inspiration. The sixty featured figures represent the spectacular potential we all have within us to change the world. The format allows for reading straight through or at your own pace, and includes photos, quotes, brief biographies, and vignettes that highlight the single moment that made each person great. The wonderfully diverse heroes included in the book are women, men, historical, contemporary, athletes, actors, inventors, politicians, and so many more. Heroes for My Daughter is a book to be read again and again, as the simple question of what makes a hero remains a vital part of today’s conversation.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Heroes and Heroines
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
3.5 Stars

A compelling concept with a lot of heart behind it. The book presents as a sort of counterpart to one of the author's other works, Heroes For My Son.

Heroes For My Daughter is made up of 57 two-page spreads of real life individuals or groups, some widely known and others more obscure, who've all left some indisputable mark on history. The layout consists of a black & white picture, a tribute explanation, and a quote. Seven blank, lined pages at the back encourage readers to write down their own personal hero's story, and leaves a designated place for said hero's picture. The author ends the collection on a personal note, including tribute sections dedicated to his grandmother, mother, and wife. As with its related book, Heroes For My Son, the general layout and excessive smallness of right-side font tends to give it more of a coffee table book feel than children's book.

For readers seeking a book with an all female cast to inspire their daughter with, I wanted to clarify: this isn't that sort of book. If The Three Stooges technically count as 3 men, then this work contains at least 16 specific male heroes--plus however many were involved in the hijacker resistance on United Flight 93.

Speaking of Flight 93... Arguably the most stunning portion of this book is dedicated to them, on a very personal note from the author. Because the flight that went down in a field was only twenty minutes from Washington D.C., where it was intended to strike either the White House, or more likely, the U.S. Capitol building. The Capitol building where the author's wife, then 8 months pregnant, was working.

This book is very closely tied to Heroes For My Son. Perhaps a little too closely--as there is exact cut-and-paste overlap in several of the hero bios between them. Mahatma Gandhi, Lucille Ball, Eleanor Roosevelt, Amelia Earhart, Rosa Parks, Abraham Lincoln, and Teri Meltzer at the very least. Although, it is difficult to tell if there are more, as the heroes are listed in no readily discernible order and there is no appendix at the end to aid in searching for them. (And yes, you will note this paragraph of my review is essentially a cut-and-pasted replica of one I used in the aforementioned related book. It seemed only fair.)

For this reader, most concerns with this book are ultimately a matter of format and delivery rather than content. I think more exclusive books called Heroines For My Daughter and one called Heroes for My Son may have been more effective. Or perhaps a simple consolidation between the two called: Heroes For My Children. Regardless, larger print and clearer organization would certainly benefit later editions.

On the whole, a worthwhile read. And potentially a good starting point to prompt more thorough researching of some of these inspiring figures.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."
Lady Smoke (Ash Princess, #2)
 
5.0
"LADY SMOKE is every bit as addictive as the first in this engrossing trilogy. Picking up where the first book..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
4.0
"The Queen's Assassin is a fantasy romance geared toward the younger YA reader. It is told from the first person..."
Ash Princess (Ash Princess, #1)
 
5.0
"ASH PRINCESS is an engaging YA fantasy that takes us to the conquered land of Astrea. Theodosia's mother, the Fire..."
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
"At age twelve, Julia starts writing in a diary. She writes about what she witnesses in her town of Juarez,..."
Sting
 
3.3
"STING is an intriguing YA dystopian retelling of THE COUNT OF MONTE CHRISTO. The world has been ravaged by climate..."
The Paper Girl of Paris
 
4.0
"The Paper Girl of Paris is written by journalist Jordyn Taylor and is set in both historical 1940’s and nowadays..."
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
5.0
"THE MIDNIGHT LIE is a lush and atmospheric YA fantasy. The book transports us to another world, where people are..."
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
"DEFY THE SUN is a fantastic conclusion to this YA fantasy duology. This book picks up right where the first..."
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
"Carmen Santos cover as a La Voz soldier has been exposed. She flees back to the La Voz's headquarters, leaving..."
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
"Blackbrook Academy is an elite school in Maine with rigorous competition. When a storm strikes, a group of students, their..."