A Good Book Is the Best of Friends: A Reader's Journal

 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
2160 0
A Good Book Is the Best of Friends: A Reader's Journal
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
July 04, 2001
ISBN
0786867191
Buy This Book
      
A beautiful write-in journal for avid readers who want to savor and remember the books that touched their lives.Ever since Oprah anointed reading our real national pastime, book clubs have been popping up all over the country, with readers everywhere sharing opinions, dog-earing important pages, and underlining unforgettable passages. But so far, those millions of readers haven't had a specific place to write down their important reactions -- positive or negative -- to the books they read. This lovely, fill-in reader's journal offers just that: a private place to record thoughts and feelings about books that spark curiosity, challenge emotions, and provoke spirited discussion.

The journal opens with a blank table of contents and space for 25 books. The entry for each title begins with space to record the specifics about each book, including plot summary and character descriptions. The journal then provides thought-provoking "writing prompts" as well as ample pages to record personal reactions, jot down quotes, or just give a general review. The final pages are specifically designed for notes, recollections, and bits of information from book group meetings, including members' names and contact information. Whether they're in a book club or not, anyone who loves to read will find keeping this journal a satisfying and rewarding way to celebrate the adventures books offer us, and to preserve those memories for all time.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A reader's journal for avid readers
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0

Finally, finally, finally...someone has developed a useful and user-friendly reader's journal. If you are an avid reader, you'll love this handy little book.


This fill-in reader's journal offers a private place to record thoughts and feelings about the books you have read. Did the book spark your curiosity? Did it challenge your emotions? Now you can record all your thoughts for later reflection.


Each book has six pages on which you can record information, including standard statistics (author, rating, etc.), thought provoking questions and blank question pages for your own reader's journey. The How to Use This Book chapter provides you with some excellent and insightful questions to use in your review.


Book discussion groups will find this a useful tool, but your average avid reader will also find this an incredibly useful guide. Just think how you'll feel as you pick up the journal years later and read your long ago thoughts... As a matter of fact, why not reserve one of the six pages to record your thoughts upon a re-reading, or after 5 or 10 years?

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Contest Prize!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
0.0
Learning Value 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by J. Mitchell

Back in July or August of 2001, I entered a contest on a whim. Only one entry was submitted and amazingly enough, I got lucky and was chosen as one of three winners of "A Good Book is the best of Friends: A Reader's Journal".

At first glance it looked somewhat intimidating (like writing a book report) but I was determined to try it. So, the next time I finished reading a book, I opened up my Reader's Journal and began the first chapter. The first page is basic information on each book... title, author, genre, publication date... all of which you can get inside the book you are reading. It also includes place of purchase and received as gift from blanks along with keeping track of who recommended the book to you and if you recommended it to someone else.

There is only room to journal 25 books in this volume and I am a very avid reader, so it would be full already if I were journaling every book
I read. Instead, I'm doing a best of and worst of sort of thing, and with series, I'll journal just one book, and maybe comment on others in the series in that section.

I always have reasons for reading a book and favorite characters, but had never thought to write them down before... now I have a place to do that. There is a place to write down book notes (and this I use for a short story synopsis of the book). Then it gets into questions about the book... three pages, but only one question per page. I just put an answer there,(underlining whether I'm answering the fiction or non-fiction question) and if there is room sometimes a favorite quote from the book.

The next two pages are essentially blank with lines, meant for answering some of the prompts included in the front of the book, but I'm saving those for when I read a book again later... and for most books I've journaled like this I WILL read them again. Now and again, I may journal an especially BAD book so I won't bother with it again, but I don't pick up too many of those.

As it turns out, this Reader's Journal is not as difficult to use as it seems to be at first. If you don't like using the prompts, who says you "have" to answer their questions? You can write your own feelings, comments etc in the spaces provided for answers as well as on the last two pages where there are no prompts.

I can think of a few things that weren't included in this "Reader's Journal" that I probably should be tracking, and thus far I haven't done so because the prompts are not there.

Date started, Date finished, Did this book win any awards and if so which ones? Publisher, ISBN (Well, I'd rarely if ever need that, but some of you may.) There may be other things, too that I haven't thought of, but it does an admirable job with very little effort on my part, so I have to give it a 4 out of 5.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Reawakened
 
3.3
"My favorite thing about this book is the Egyptian elements. Reading Lily’s adventures in pyramids gave me strong Indiana Jones..."
Three Day Summer
 
4.7
"Michael doesn't know what he wants to do with his life. He should go to community college to avoid the..."
Crush (Crave, #2)
 
4.7
"CRUSH is an intense and nail-biting sequel to CRAVE. This second book picks up a few months after the first..."
The Shadow War
 
3.0
"Audiobook review: Following 5 teens trying to survive, THE SHADOW WAR imagines World War II with a..."
Meet Cute: Some people are destined to meet
 
4.0
"MEET CUTE is a fun, romantic anthology featuring stories about people first meeting. Ranging from cute to funny to dark..."
Glimpsed
 
3.7
"GLIMPSED gives us a twist on the typical fairytale with Charity, a fairy godmother from a line of fairy godmothers...."
Shine Until Tomorrow
 
5.0
"Wow, this book didn’t turn out to be anything like I expected. The story: Tamara is a young..."