Lost in the Pacific, 1942 (Lost #1)

Hot
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
9001 0
Lostinthe Pacific.jpg
Author(s)
Age Range
11+
Release Date
October 25, 2016
ISBN
0545928117
Buy This Book
      
World War II, October 21, 1942. A B-17 bomber drones high over the Pacific Ocean, sending a desperate SOS into the air. The crew is carrying America's greatest living war hero on a secret mission deep into the battle zone. But the plane is lost, burning through its final gallons of fuel.

At 1:30 p.m., there is only one choice left: an emergency landing at sea. If the crew survives the impact, they will be left stranded without food or water hundreds of miles from civilization.

Eight men. Three inflatable rafts. Sixty-eight million square miles of ocean. What will it take to make it back alive?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

engaging tale of true survival
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
4.0
LOST IN THE PACIFIC, 1942 is a true story of survival. During World War II, a plane is on a mission across the ocean, when they become lost, landing in the ocean. The men on board move to rafts, where they will attempt survival against the odds out on the ocean. One of the men is Eddie Rickenbacker, a World War I war hero and who became the face of the crash in the news. Floating in the ocean, the men have little to no food and water and are thus in for a dangerous and uncertain future.

With some descriptions of other people lost at sea and the sickening of the eight men in the rafts, this is a suspenseful story of their journey. Much of the book is spent trying to find food and (drinkable) water, which is harder than it may sound in the middle of the ocean. There is little hope for being found as they are like a needle in the haystack in the ocean.

What I loved: The story really pulls the reader in with the narrative style. The characters really come to life with descriptions of their conversations and loved ones. The danger feels very real with sharks threatening them, the rafts constantly leaking, and no drinkable water available. A true story, it comes to life in this book. Adding onto that the photos included throughout, and the men/journey become tangible for younger readers.

What left me wanting more: There is not a lot going on in the story, as they do not have much to do- and some things are mentioned but not really expanded upon. It would have been interesting to hear more about other survival stories on the ocean and smart things to do (for instance with drinking saltwater, more about the sickness one can get and about other things that could be done). In terms of other things mentioned, they talk about their families and girlfriends-for instance, there were letters being sent, and it would have been nice to include samples of the letters or other information that could help increase their characterization to help the reader connect with the individuals.

Final verdict: This non-fiction tale of survival is brought to young readers in a highly engaging fashion as they travel the ocean with these eight men during World War II. Fans of light suspense and stories of beating the odds will enjoy this narrative tale.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
A New Story for WWII Enthusiasts
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
N/A
Learning Value 
 
5.0
A true and moving account of a WWII B-17 Bomber crew in 1942. I have to admit, while I read a lot of WWII fiction and nonfiction, and have taken a few courses on the time period, this is one story I was not aware about. I had heard of the World War I Ace Eddie Rickenbacker, but had never come across an account of this event.

Tod Olson presents this true story in a friendly narrative form. There is enough background provided to help the reader understand what is happening without sounding like a textbook. Olson provides great descriptions of the characters and setting making the tension and suspense almost touchable. It is action-packed and the narrative keeps you on the end of your seat. Including the photos of the men involved also helps to put a face to a name creating a more personal link.

Over-all the book is well written and is sure to hook reluctant readers and avid readers alike.

Great for middle school readers who are interested in stories like Unbroken or have read the YA edition of unbroken, survival stories, or stories of friendship and heroism.
Good Points
Well-written
Fast paced
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Pablo
 
4.0
"PABLO is a simple but cute story about a chick that is not ready to hatch. It is time for..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Spin with Me
 
4.0
"SPIN WITH ME is a heartfelt middle grade contemporary about labels and love. Essie has been moved across the country..."