While You Were Sleeping

Featured
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2564 0
While You Were Sleeping
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
December 01, 2012
ISBN
0545430283
Buy This Book
      
Discover the amazing things that happen around the world while you are asleep!

Books are often used to put children to bed. But what happens after we close our eyes? The world keeps spinning, people go to work, machines plug on, and many of the Earth's living creatures are just waking up! WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING is going to fill its readers in on everything they're missing after they drift off to sleep. The book is divided into six chapters (animals, the human body, space, pop culture, and sports), with each chapter focusing on different activities that happen every night. The pages will have fun and kid-friendly, full-color illustrations throughout.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Another Homerun
(Updated: December 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
5.0
Learning Value 
 
5.0
Not only does WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING open your eyes to all the incredible facts that happen across the globe each night, it will also make you laugh and say, "What?! How cool!" more than you may think.

For instance, did you know NASA launched a spacecraft called Juno, which is manned by three Lego figurines? No kidding! While you're snoozing away, these three little Lego buddies are careening toward Jupiter on a mission. How cool is that? NASA just went up in my estimation right there. I can just imagine the confusion an alien species might have if they intercepted that spacecraft...

Space is just one of the several categories in WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING. Joining it are The Human Body, Animals, Nature, and Pop Culture. You'll discover answers to all sorts of zany (and not so zany) questions. Which creepy and crawly creatures only come out at night? How many skin cells does your body shed in your sleep? How many tweets are posted on Twitter during the nighttime hours? Which plant makes the most...noise?!

Matthew and Steve Murrie's fact books for kids are some of my favorite books on the market. Each fact is delivered succinctly and simply with lots of humor, so even the most "anti-educational book" kid will be entertained. These books are great for classrooms, for science project or essay reference, or for the science lover in your family. I'd even recommend them as a way to get a reluctant child interested in science and the world around them.

I was quite the science geek as a child, and I would have loved to have these books (EVERY MINUTE ON EARTH, EVERY DAY ON EARTH, WHILE YOU WERE SLEEPING) while I was growing up. I suggest taking them on road trips. They're great to read aloud!
Good Points
- gasp-worthy facts that will delight your kids
- cute/quirky illustrations
- super succinct phrasing makes each fact fun for even the most reluctant reader
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Beetle and the Hollowbones
 
5.0
"Beetle is a goblin-witch who isn't loving the small magic her grandmother teaches her. She'd rather hang out with Blob..."
Brenda is a Sheep
 
3.5
"BRENDA IS A SHEEP is a silly book about friendship and acceptance. Brenda is a sheep (actually a wolf in..."
The Kiosk
 
3.0
"THE KIOSK is a picture book about a woman who is stuck inside her kiosk. Every day, she helps people..."
The Good Song: A Story Inspired by "Somewhere Over the Rainbow / What a Wonderful World"
 
4.0
"THE GOOD SONG is a book about grief and finding beauty in the world around you. A little boy grows..."
Now You See Me, Now You Don't
 
3.5
"NOW YOU SEE ME, NOW YOU DON'T is ultimately a book about kindness and camouflage. Chameleon loves his ability to..."
The Cows on the Bus
 
5.0
"THE COWS ON THE BUS is a fantastically fun singing book that takes the tune of "The Wheels on the..."
Pablo
 
4.0
"PABLO is a simple but cute story about a chick that is not ready to hatch. It is time for..."
Shoe Wars
 
4.0
"SHOE WARS is a silly fun middle grade read that is somewhere between a graphic novel and chapter book. The..."
Spin with Me
 
4.0
"SPIN WITH ME is a heartfelt middle grade contemporary about labels and love. Essie has been moved across the country..."