Girls Only: How to Survive Anything!

Featured
 
1.7 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
2518 0
Girls Only: How to Survive Anything!
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0545430951
Buy This Book
      
A new graphic novel from the team that brought you the NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Best at Everything series!

Unlike those other books for girls that are a little too daring, GIRLS ONLY: HOW TO SURVIVE ANYTHING is the perfect guide. In addition to the mix of humor and helpfulness, the fresh graphic style of art makes this book stand out from all the others. With practical, funny, and sometimes ridiculous how-tos (like how to deal with a clothes crisis, teach your cat to sit, and spot an alien in your family) girls are going to love getting prepared for just about anything!

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Missed the Mark
(Updated: June 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
3.0
Learning Value 
 
1.0
Nevermind the picture on the cover that shows an intrepid girl swinging through a jungle on a vine. The real message lying inside the book is that girls are shy, fashion-conscious, non-adventurous types. I guess when Scholastic said in the book’s description that this is "unlike those other books for girls that are a little too daring ..." that should be all the red flag a reader needs to know better than to buy this book. It's insulting. The boy's book has chapters on surviving quicksand and other outdoor things. The girl's book has chapters on how to pick the perfect pair of sunglasses and how to teach your cat to sit.

Mix it up, Scholastic. Not every boy wants to take on an avalanche. Not every girl worries about the perfect accessory to her outfit. Do you think Amelia Earhart spent time teaching her cat to sit as she was planning to fly around the world? Was Nellie Bly worried about the perfect fashion accessories when in the Victorian age she traveled around the world in less than 80 days? I’m betting Joan of Arc, Mother Theresa, and Rosa Parks were all spectacularly unconcerned with how to spot a “frenemy” as they stepped forward to change the course of history.

Do you REALLY want teach a girl how to survive anything? Show her that being confident in herself and the interests and skills that are uniquely hers is the best ticket to a fulfilled life. Encourage her to set her goals high and then go for it. Introduce her to the amazing line up of brave, talented, incredible women who’ve dared to put their own stamp on the world. If she chooses to approach her destiny wearing the perfect pair of sunglasses, that’s up to her. But at least respect the female gender enough to communicate that the only limits to what we can do are those we impose on ourselves.

As a note, Scholastic noted the controversy over this title and said it would pull all copies of the books. As of today, however, the book is still being sold on Amazon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Drama!
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)  
 
2.0
Learning Value 
 
1.0
I heard about the drama surrounding this book before actually getting to read it. Google to your heart's content, but the gist is that Scholastic published the "How To Survive Anything" series targeted separately towards boys and girls. I bet you can guess which sex got chapters entitled, "How to Survive Quicksand," "How to Survive a Polar Bear Attack," and "How to Survive an Avalanche," as opposed to who got "How to Teach Your Cat to Sit" and "How to Pick the Perfect Sunglasses." Yeah, this doesn't look, Scholastic.

There are some skills that would be useful to both sexes, such as speech making, surviving shyness, and showing you're sorry. Unfortunately, it is assumed that only females need to survive these things. It's insulting and sexist to both boys and girls.

Scholastic has written a tepid response, stating, "Many readers have expressed concerns about our How to Survive Anything titles, and we want to thank you for your passionate responses. The two titles have had very limited distribution to date, and no further copies will be made available." Both books are still being sold on the Scholastic website.
Good Points
The illustrations feature diverse characters
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."
The Curse of Jenny Greene
 
5.0
"I should start by saying The Curse of Jenny Greene is far from my normal genre preferences. I’m not usually..."
Emmie and the Tudor Queen
 
4.5
"This sequel resolved a lot of questions I had that weren’t answered in the first book like where did the..."
The Reclaimed Kingdom (The Syphon Series, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’m a new fan of Dana Claire as I recently read “The Connection” and loved it. While I eagerly..."
Sleeping Beauty's Spindle
 
4.0
"Briar Rose hasn't had any easy life. After losing her parents, she's struggling to keep her siblings together as a..."
The First Holidays
 
5.0
"A sweet and perfect novella to go with this series. The Story: Four best..."
The Connection
 
4.8
"I’ll cut to the chase before I delve into a more detailed review; I loved this book! I binge-read The..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
"BORN AT DAWN is an upper YA fantasy full of adventure - the main character is half human and half..."
Born Royal
 
3.8
"As a girl, Vi suffered various forms of torture from her mom and she was the equivalent to a lab..."
The Lost Prince (The Nihryst Book 2)
 
5.0
"THE LOST PRINCE opens up where the first one left off. Ada is with Lee searching for a cure to..."
Edge of Light
 
5.0
"This book literally starts out with a bang as multiple meteorites strike cities across the earth at the same time,..."
The Runaway (Barrett Boys #1)
 
5.0
"Annie lives in a small town where everyone knows everything about each other. She is usually the subject of the..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
"Definitely a book that's worth a read. The Story: Kenna wants to be able..."
Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."