Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series: Mischief Before Mastery: Book 2

 
3.5
 
5.0 (1)
1014 0
Mischief Before Mastery
Author(s)
Publisher Name
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Age Group
10+
Published Date
October 31, 2015
ISBN Number
978-1518755330
ASIN Number
      
In one day Jarod Dailey inherited his grandfather’s old shoes and socks, learned they could be used to talk to the dead, and then was given the secret message by Grandpa himself that made Jarod the next Lord of Kentwood. When his best friend Tommy shows up at the mansion to help Jarod explore his new estate, things start to take a darker turn from fun and adventure. Jarod’s was only one-of-even priceless items the family inherited when Grandpa died. As underhanded outsiders try to grab, ransom or steal what they can from the new family member’s, Jarod and Tommy dive into figuring out why everyone wants these things so badly. Thinking if Jarod’s shoes and socks are magical, maybe the other items have powers too, they decide to test them all. But how do they get their hands on each one separately to try things out? That’s the question that gets them into trouble… To learn more about all 6 books in this series so far visit: www.TLTaborBooks.com or T.L. Tabor's Author page on Amazon and Kindle.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Teen Boy Hijinks
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
Since Jarod was made Lord Kentwood, his extended family is being kept at the mansion for fear that someone will steal the items that they have inherited. There is a clause in the grandfather's will that any item not wanted by a family member must be offered to another family member first, so Jarod ends up buying some stocks and bonds from his uncle, who is being rude and unpleasant. Along with his cousin Tommy, Jarod is investigating wearing the magic socks of his grandfather's along with the shoes of other people, so he can hear what they are thinking. Needing a break from the family, and wanting to use some of the inheritance, the boys invite some cheerleaders from school out for pizza. This is a good idea, because Jarod gets to hang out with a girl he likes, but a bad idea because the group gets attacked and cousin Frederick is kidnapped. With the help of butler Brindley, Jarod and Tommy attempt to rescue Frederick, seeking help from their grandfather's ghost along the way.
Good Points
It was nice to get a break from the family drama and see what Jarod's ordinary life was like. Of course, it you are holed up in a mansion for your own safety, going out to eat pizza might not be the best choice! It was also nice to have some more action and adventure, and fighting off the bad guys certainly makes this book more exciting than the first one.

The boys' reactions to the girls is realistic. There need to be more books that have light romance in them from the boys' perspectives. Jarod and Tommy are very different, but play against each other very well in both dealing with girls and in trying to rescue their cousin.

Mischief Before Mastery has an interesting blend of ghosts, family drama, and teen boy hijinks, and will be a good choice for readers who like Korman's Son of the Mob or perhaps Raskin's The Westing Game.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Read First Three Books Already
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Reader review from Amazon:
"Spitzenberger on August 3, 2016

I have read the book #1- #2- #3- they are a great read for people of all ages - lots of twists and turns thru each chapter."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."