Death, Diamonds, And Dirty Socks Series: Priceless Inheritance: Book 1

 
3.3
 
5.0 (1)
779 0
Priceless Inheritance:  Book 1
Author(s)
Publisher Name
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Age Group
10+
Published Date
October 30, 2015
ISBN Number
978-1518684494
ASIN Number
      
Sitting at the reading of Grandpa’s will, thirteen-year-old Jarod Dailey never knew that any of this had belonged to his family. Not only were a mansion and title suddenly a possibility, but he also had a one-in-seven chance of inheriting an item worth five hundred million dollars. As the clock ticked down for him to make his selection from the will’s items, he used his heart instead of his head. Taking an old brown pair of shoes and fuzzy socks as his inherited item, the others walk away not only smiling at their new treasures, but laughing at his. It is the summer after eighth grade and suddenly Jarod’s life has changed drastically. Jarod is plunged into the excitement of this new world of wealth the inherited items have brought his family. Him and his best friend Tommy try to figure out why the shoes could be so valuable to Grandpa, then he finds a secret message inscribed on them (To walk a mile in a man’s shoes is to know the secrets of his heart) and learns that when used with the socks, he can connect with anyone, dead or alive! His first visit...is from Grandpa.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Fast Paced tale of Inheritance
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
Jarod's dysfunctional family is gathered for the reading of his grandfather's will. Jarod misses his grandfather, but the other are just interested in what they will get. When the lawyer brings out a variety of luxury items from which the survivors can pick, they squabble over mink coats and diamond rings, but Jarod contents himself with an old pair of shoes. When his grandfather is revealed to be Lord Kentwood, with impressive holdings outside his small house and run down car, the family becomes even more grasping. Jarod's grandfather's ghost appears to him to let him know he made the best choice, and reveals some more secrets to him. The first in a six books series.
Good Points
A lot of this is pure tween fantasy-- what would it be like to inherit a British title along with a grand manor house and a butler. The house is armed with all manner of safety and security features to keep all of the priceless heirlooms safe against the people who are trying to steal them.

Jarod's family members are all rather grasping and mean, but they do come around a little bit when they realize that Jarod's affection for his grandfather is what earned him the best prize. His mother and sister are a little over the top at first, and one of his uncles is particularly nasty, but everyone learns a little about themselves and has to come to terms with who the grandfather really was.

This book set the stage for the others to come. All of the books are relatively short (about 107 pages), which is a good length for reluctant readers. Readers who like Barbara Wallace's mysteries, as well as books by Philip Ardagh and Lemony Snicket, will enjoy this introduction Death, Diamonds, and Dirty Socks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
written for the in-betweener guys
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
A Review Posted on Amazon.com:
"A series that both genders will like, but written for the in-betweener guys! June 15, 2016
This one is the first of the series~I wanted to read some before I presented them as gift to 7th/8th grade boy!! I couldn't put it down, I have been so intrigued and captivated by the story....written from and for that gender and age group's point of view and manner of looking at life! A delight but not in any way 'sissy'~"
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."