The Greatest Blessings

Hot
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
4535 1
The Greatest Blessings
11.jpg
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Lampglow Books
Age Group
6+
Published Date
August 01, 2014
ISBN Number
978-0-578-13143-6
ASIN Number
      
Parents, Teachers, Sitters and Storytellers:

Discover the illustrated children's chapter book that the prestigious Midwest Book Review calls "unforgettable," the popular Reading Frenzy book review says "should be next on your child's reading (or listening) list," and has kids everywhere asking one another ...

Fame, Fortune or Power: Which would YOU choose if you could have only one?

Lords and brothers Fame, Fortune and Power decide how well all people will fare in life in the namesake realms of human desire they control. When they deem a woeful babe abandoned in a barn unworthy of any of their favours, the child grows up the lackey of a cruel farmer and his tormenting spoiled children. When he is old enough Boy, for that is the name used for him, runs away with the only friends he has ever known—the equally abused and unnamed Sheep, Cow and Horse—to seek a better life.

Years later, a quarrel among Fame, Fortune and Power over whose blessing is the greatest sends them, and their court jester Nobody, on a quest to find an unsullied party to settle their dispute. Boy seems the perfect candidate, but his unconventional views on what is valuable in life incite the lords and bring him to the brink of doom. Will he live? What happens to the lords? And is Boy right or does one of the lords’ blessings outshine the others? The future of mankind depends on the answer.

FLASH, May 1: The prestigious Midwest Book Review calls The Greatest Blessings "unforgettable"!

Read the review:

The Greatest Blessings
Mark Isaacs, author
Jim Balkovek, illustrator
www.balkovek.net
Lampglow Books
9780578131436 $16.00
www.thegreatestblessings.com

Author and educator Mark Isaacs presents The Greatest Blessings, an illustrated parable in the style of classic fairy tales. Brothers and lords Fame, Fortune, and Power dispense their blessings over people everywhere, but when they spurn a homely babe the infant grows up unknown, impoverished and a slave to his greedy foster father. Boy (his cruel foster father gave him no other name) escapes to freedom with his only friends—Sheep, Cow, and Horse—in search of a better life. When Fame, Fortune, and Power quarrel over whose blessing is the greatest, they and their court jester Nobody search out Boy for an impartial judgment. However, Boy has his own views about what life's greatest blessings truly are! Timeless wisdom, eye-for-an-eye justice (the evil foster father is eaten by slavering wolves), and vivid color illustrations distinguish this unforgettable, allegorical children's chapter book.

FLASH, July 2: The Reading Frenzy Book Review gives The Greatest Blessings 5 (out of 5) stars!

Read a blurb:

The Greatest Blessings is Fantastic!
“A morality tale in the timeless form of a classic fairy tale, children will delight in the story and learn all-important life lessons as they do. If you're a parent, this gem should be next on your child's reading list!”

FLASH, Sept. 25: The highly selective library vendor Quality Books Inc. picks up The Greatest Blessings for nationwide representation!

FLASH, Nov. 11: The Greatest Blessings cracks the top 10 in Kindle Arthurian-themed children's titles!

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Plot/Story 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0  (1)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Greatest Blessings
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Plot/Story 
 
5.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
5.0
Author Mark Isaacs has written a story that should be read by every young person between the ages of 6 and 16. We are bombarded every day with advertisements, news stories, television reality shows, TV series and movies that glorify and idolize the accumulation of wealth, fame and power. We turn goofballs into heroes, when all they are are goofballs.

In Isaacs' fascinating story, a poor farmer named Boy is given the opportunity to choose riches, power or fame and the gods who offer these "gifts" naturally assume that he will jump at the chance. But Boy makes a surprising decision that is so inspirational. I really enjoyed the writing and the illustrations are gorgeous. Kudos to Isaacs for creating a spellbinding classic fable with a vital modern message.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."