Eliza's Journal

FeaturedHot
 
3.6
 
0.0 (0)
5917 1
Eliza's Journal
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Kati Green
Publisher Name
Craigmore Creations
Genre/Type
Age Group
10+
Published Date
October 12, 2012
ISBN Number
0984442251
ASIN Number
      
Eliza Wolcott has been sent by her parents to live with her aunt and uncle for the summer on the small community of Orcas Island off the mainland of Washington State. What she imagines to be a fun-in-the-sun vacation quickly turns into a season of assuming responsibility as she is forced by her uncle to get a summer job. Eliza uses her talent as an artist and applies to be a natural history illustrator for the local eccentric Orville Tanner. She documents her time on the island by writing and drawing in her journal, which is the format of the novel itself. Orville Tanner is strange and gruff and Eliza considers turning the job down, until she meets Charlie, Orville s handsome grandson. The summer progresses and a friendship develops, while Eliza finds herself illustrating peculiar finds from the chronicles of geologic time. Guided by curiosity and an uncanny sense that something is very different about the Tanner family, Eliza begins to snoop around for information. As the romance between Eliza and Charlie grows, Eliza begins to unlock the details of a family secret.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Worth A Look
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Plot/Story 
 
4.0
Illustrations (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Characters (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Editing/Design Quality 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

The voice! The main character is nearly sixteen, but her voice skews a bit younger, which is perfect for middle grade readers. She's funny, witty, smart, and observant. In fact, her voice combined with the mystery in the plot reminded me of a more modern Nancy Drew.

I also enjoyed the setting, and the many details that bring it to life. Most of this is through Eliza's experiences with the geological finds she's illustrating. This is a book that could be used to educate middle grade readers about Orcas Island and the various geological finds described in the book while still entertaining them with the humor, slight mystery, and sweet romance.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Honestly, this book confused me at first. Like so many readers, I make snap judgments about a book by its cover, and this book's cover says "I'm from 1974." The illustrations inside, for the most part, felt old-fashioned as well. Nothing about the book's presentation says "funny, mysterious, adventurous middle grade book" but in truth, that's what readers will find inside the pages. I feel like this book has an identity crisis on its hands because modern readers are looking for bold, beautiful covers and illustrations, and this book is in danger of being passed up in favor of others whose packaging will draw readers in. That would be a shame because this is a book worth reading.

Final Verdict:

Eliza's Journal is funny, fast-paced, and contains just the right amount of mystery, science, and romance to capture a discerning middle grade reader. There is some light profanity in case readers are sensitive to that. Despite the lack of an engaging cover, I do hope readers find their way to this book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The People We Choose
 
3.3
"THE PEOPLE WE CHOOSE is an intriguing YA contemporary about how we define family. Calliope is nearly 18 years old,..."
Choices
 
5.0
"It's no secret that I adore Michelle's books, so it was fun reading one of her earlier books. ..."
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
"TAKE ME HOME TONIGHT is an unexpected YA contemporary read, told from three perspectives. Kat, Stevie, and Teri are all..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."