Miss Olive Finds Her Furever Home

99 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miss Olive Finds Her Furever Home
Miss Olive Finds Her Furever Home, a children’s book about a rescue dog finding a loving home, was recently awarded the prestigious Dog Writers Association of America Maxwell Medallion for 2018 Children’s Book of the Year. Written by Susan Marie and Miss Olive herself, and Illustrated by Rebekah Phillips, the book is the first in a trilogy about Miss Olive’s adventures.

Recommended for ages four through nine, Miss Olive Finds Her Furever Home teaches children an important lesson about life and what it means to be accepted for who you are. Through the Miss Olive book series, children learn that bringing a pet into a loving home can be an incredibly rewarding experience.

The Dog Writers Association of America (DWAA) was created in 1935 at the Westminster Kennel Club Dog Show. The best known feature of the DWAA is its annual writing contest, which encourages excellence in writing about dogs in all aspects of communication. Miss Olive Finds Her Furever Home won the DWAA Maxwell Medallion for 2018 Children’s Book of the Year. The award recognizes and encourages writers who exhibit talent, resourcefulness, dedication and integrity in their writing about dogs and dog-related topics.

“As children see Miss Olive’s difficult path to finding her family, they come to realize how much it means for a dog or cat to find a home,” says author Susan Marie. “Having a pet is not just about feeding and walking them daily. It’s about the pet becoming a part of their family. They learn that pets need kindness and love just like people do.”

Miss Olive Finds Her Furever Home follows the little Italian Greyhound with three legs who is alone in an animal shelter. She dreams of being adopted by a loving family. On her journey to find her forever home, Miss Olive feels love and kindness from her foster mom and finds friendship with other animals who are waiting for adoption. One by one, all of the other dogs are adopted into happy families and Miss Olive begins to wonder if it will ever happen for her. She ultimately learns that dreams do come true.
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
  • Miss Olive
  • Rebekah Phillips
Publisher Name
The Doggy Diva Show, Inc
Genre/Type

Dreamland

176 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamland
In his sleep, Louie starts visiting a magical world where he meets his father, who died when Louie was still a baby. But nothing turns out to be what it seems, and great horrors loom very close by ...

Welcome to Dreamland.
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Self

How to Protect Your Neighborhood from Circus Werewolves

66 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The circus is in town, and Mick Bogerman has a fail-proof plan to sneak inside the adults-only Macabre Pavilion. But there's something weird about the A. Linville & Purnima Bros. Circus this year. Angry parents and crying kids exit early by the carload. Maybe it's the clowns. Yes, they wear the standard stark-white faces and red bulbous noses, but underneath their painted smiles, there's something not quite right. What's more, after the full moon rises . . . they howl. When Mick and his friends rescue a caged boy from the clown's clutches they set off a series of disasters that threaten their entire neighborhood. Can Mick become the leader his neighbors need and protect them from the pack of hungry predators infiltrating their town?
Author(s)
Publisher Name
Slug Pie Stories, LLC

Simon Grey and the March of a Hundred Ghosts

98 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Japan, 1620: A mysterious shipwreck has left cabin boy Simon Grey stranded in an unfamiliar, dangerous land.

He hoped that a long sea voyage would provide some relief from his “gift” of seeing ghosts everywhere on land. Instead, he finds that his ability draws him into the shadowy world of yokai, the spirits and monsters that roam Japan by night. Together with the mysterious Oyuki, daughter of an English sailor-turned-samurai, Simon must earn the yokai's trust and help, while staying one step ahead of the Shogun's guards and an evil sorcerer determined to discover the “secret” of Simon’s powers.

As they struggle to stay alive and find a way home, Simon and Oyuki deal with friends and foes from both sides of the grave.

"Simon Grey and the March of a Hundred Ghosts" is a gripping fantasy adventure that will appeal to fans of Percy Jackson and Young Samurai.
Publisher Name
Excalibur Books

Children of the Knight

139 0
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Children of the Knight
An orphan boy. A mysterious stranger. A city in crisis.

When 14-year-old Lance is saved from death, his life is forever changed. For starters, his savior claims to be King Arthur, the once and future ruler of ancient Britain. Lance has met lots of weirdos on the streets of L.A., and they claim to be many things. But this “king” not only reeks of sincerity, he wears armor, rides a gorgeous white horse, and lives in the storm drains underneath the city! Arthur has a throne, old-school clothes, and weapons up the wazoo. Swords, daggers, bows and arrows—the kind Lance has only seen in movies.

Turns out this Arthur guy wants to start some kind of revolution. He plans to collect other cast-off kids like Lance—even teen gang members—and create a New Camelot of Knights to gain more rights for youth and shake up the out-of-touch politicians who run Los Angeles.

Lance is all for helping kids like him. He’s spent his entire life in and out of the system, and it sucks. And he wants to believe in Arthur, but doubts even a king can accomplish such lofty goals. Despite these uncertainties, Lance readily accepts the position of First Knight—youth leader of Arthur’s new army—thereby setting in motion a crusade of tsunami proportions. When the children rise, will the city fall?

The Lance Chronicles begin…
Publisher Name
Michael J. Bowler

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...
The Brightsiders
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen rockstar has to navigate family, love, coming out,...
IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...
The Survival List
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sloane Weber is devastated when her older sister dies...
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed YA debut pits a deadly siren princess and...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA fantasy...
Kingdom of Souls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay. The...
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
"This heartwarming story deals with friendship, empathy, caring, nurturing and...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two young...
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The third installment of the Making of America series, Abraham...

Latest Member Reviews

Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."
The Rift
 
3.3
"THE RIFT is a unique YA fantasy that takes place on Black Water Island, a place prized for the herd..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
"THE BEAUTIFUL takes place in New Orleans, primarily following a young woman, Celine. Celine fled France after a terrible event..."
 
5.0
"Eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson goes to Madrid, Spain with his family in order for his mother to reconnect with the country..."
Glow of the Fireflies
 
3.3
"GLOW OF THE FIREFLIES is a YA fantasy that follows a teenaged girl, Briony, who has no memories from before..."
Creep
 
3.3
"CREEP is an interesting YA thriller/horror that follows an incoming high school freshman, Olivia (Liv). Olivia lives in a small..."
 
4.0
"EVE OF MAN by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher is the latest in YA dystopias. In the story, a phenomenon of..."
 
4.7
"Sam Jones and Zoe Miller are seniors in high school, but they've never had a reason to communicate during their..."
 
4.7
"Michigan Manning just wants to play hockey. Unfortunately, the high school she attends in the upper peninsula of Michigan has..."
When You Ask Me Where I'm Going
 
5.0
"WHEN YOU ASK ME WHERE I'M GOING is an absolutely gorgeous collection that reaches to touch the soul. In poems,..."
A Match Made in Mehendi
 
4.0
"A MATCH MADE IN MEHENDI is a light-hearted contemporary romance. Simi aspires to be an artist, but right now, she's..."
The Survival List
 
4.0
"A worthy read. The Story: Sloane is dealing with her sister's suicide when she finds a list her..."
I'll Give You the Sun
 
5.0
"I’ll Give You the Sun is a masterpiece of the Young Adult genre, perfectly incorporating the feel of what it..."
A Treason of Thorns
 
4.3
"A TREASON OF THORNS is a dark and enchanting YA historical fantasy. Violet comes from a long line of Caretakers,..."
The Girl The Sea Gave Back
 
4.3
"THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK is a stand-alone companion novel to THE SKY IN THE DEEP. A historical fantasy..."
Kingdom of Souls (Kingdom of Souls, #1)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF SOULS is a dark epic fantasy that follows Arrah, a girl whose mother is the Ka-Priestess and whose..."
The Missing Season
 
3.3
"Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the..."
Tell Me How You Really Feel
 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."