Born to Spy

 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
1495 0
Born to Spy
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
December 24, 2010
ISBN
B004FN1KWA
Buy This Book
      
When thirteen-year-old Thom’s father goes missing, Thom knows something’s up so he breaks into the basement only to find a spy center full of spy equipment. With the help of his friend, Danny, and Danny's fifteen-year-old sister, Hilly, the three of them set out to discover what happened to Thom’s father, but their investigation brings them to the attention of a powerful group of art thieves who would do anything to protect their identities. Soon they realize their own life's at stake and Hilly's drama queen antics and focus on spending every penny on the royal spy credit card isn't aiding the mission one bit. Thom will have to rely on his wits and friends if he’s to survive and solve the mystery.(

User reviews

3 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
So funny
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by KT Webb

I bought this book for my twelve year old grandson. He loved it, so I gave it a try and couldn't put it down. The kids' voices are so funny and the adventure kept me on the edge of my seat. No book's ever made me laugh so hard. The girl, Hilly, and her love for shopping is beyond entertaining, but the boys are great too.
I enjoyed this so much, I'm reading it again. Can't wait for this author to publish something else. It's refreshing to see there's new talent out there that doesn't rely on magic, violence and all the other cheap tricks used nowadays to tell a good story. If you want humor, and lots of good laughs, get this.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
My child loved it
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ILOVEBOOKS

My 9-year-old is a fussy reader who doesn't like most books I buy. I took a chance on Spy Kidz given its cheap price and the great cover and I'm so happy I did. The story's fantastic: three children go on a mission to solve the mystery of a missing spy. But it's how they get there that kept me and my child laughing all the way through. Our favourite character was Hilly, the teenage girl, with diva attitude. I thought it cute how the children worked together and looked out for each other. The importance of friendship and teamwork was emphasised throughout the plot, which is something I want my child to learn. The main character, Thom, is a lovely boy my child could relate to and the clue-searching part was well-developed and kept us guessing what'd happen next. 
I'll be watching out for more books by this author, not least because my child has asked for the next book in the series. I hope there's going to be more.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
I 'spy' the perfect present
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Donna Johnson

I was looking for the perfect Christmas present for my children's kindle-and I found it! This book will capture the attention and imagination of a wide variety of readers. I guarantee it will have you and your kids laughing out loud. I read it in a few days and LOVED it. Throm's dad has gone missing. After some digging, Throm learns that his dad's top secret mission might've went wrong while he was trying to take down an art thief. What's a twelve year boy supposed to do when being a secret spy runs in his DNA? He engages on `his own action-packed mission' taking on the identity of his dad who happens to be a royal spy. And what fun would a mission be without two hilarious side kicks-his best friend, Danny, and Danny's sister, Hilly? They become the masters of disguise and use their sharp wit and charm to obtain clues that lead them closer to Throm's dad. This hilarious adventure eventually leads them to Ireland-the ever splendid Emerald Isle, land of endless green. They're taken on all kinds of different twists and turns along the way, even tangling with dangerous villains. The way they gather intelligence and travel incognito gives James Bond 007 a run for his money. I couldn't stop laughing the entire time because these characters are so darn funny and the situations they get themselves into are hysterical. This author has mastered the art of telling stories that are enjoyable to children and adults alike. All I can say is that I'm hooked.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."