The Dead and the Gone (The Last Survivors #2)

 
0.0
 
4.5 (2)
2024 1
The Dead and the Gone (The Last Survivors #2)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
June 01, 2008
ISBN
9780152063115
Buy This Book
      
Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Life as We Knew It enthralled and devastated readers with its brutal but hopeful look at an apocalyptic event--an asteroid hitting the moon, setting off a tailspin of horrific climate changes. Now this harrowing companion novel examines the same events as they unfold in New York City, revealed through the eyes of seventeen-year-old Puerto Rican Alex Morales. When Alex's parents disappear in the aftermath of tidal waves, he must care for his two younger sisters, even as Manhattan becomes a deadly wasteland, and food and aid dwindle. With haunting themes of family, faith, personal change, and courage, this powerful new novel explores how a young man takes on unimaginable responsibilities.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Dead and the Gone ( Last Survivor's Book 2)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
17-year old Alex Morales is a normal teenager, he attends the St. Vicent de Paul collge-prep school in New York City, worries about whether he will be class president, has two annoying sisters, and has a job at a Pizzeria.

All of this is shattered one day when a cosmic event causes chaos and destruction on a global scale. His mother who works at the hospital doesn't come home that day, his father who is visting with relatives in Puerto Rico can't be contacted, food prices rise overnight and panic floods through the people of New York City.

Alex struggles to keep him and his sisters alive when the entire city starts to fall apart. Throughout the book he is forced to make extremly difficult decisions for survival that compromise both his moral ethics and that of his religios beliefs. He does things that he would have never thought himself capable of doing.

Although, the Dead and The Gone focuses on the aftermath of the same disaster mentioned in the first Last Survivors book: Life as We Knew It,this book is definitely more raw and gritty. Desperation and the need for survival are all conveyed more sharply than in the previous book. One of the items that adds to the more cataclysmic tone of this novel, is the setting. In the previous book where the reader was in the country mor opportunities were present for survival and less danger was evident. In the Dead and The Gone, in the city there is less room for error and less opportunities, resources are harder to come by,and help is less likely to be gained. As the book progress the main charcter Alex becomes increasingly desperate in his quest to send his sisters to a safer place.


The Dead and The Gone doesn't have a first person Narration like the first book, however the day by day format is still there, which allows a sharp contrast to be drawn between the intial days after the disaster and the months following. This is a excellent Post-apocalyptical book, and a must-read, especially if you've read the first book or love post-apocalyptical reads. The Dead and The Gone would also make a great books for discussion.

Age Groups: 14 and older.

Content: References to a shopkeeper wanting to by a girl, references to people commiting suicide, references to piles of bodies and similar descriptions, characters talking about religious figures in a derogatory manner, adult characters consuming alcohol, references to characters stealing, references to global disasters
Good Points
Brillant story, plot, and writing!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Dead and the Gone: An Excellent Dystopian Book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kelsey

Wow. This book is awesome.
Devastating, depressing, heartbreaking, and tear-worthy...but still
awesome. It seems like it should be boring, because Alex and his sisters
stay in one place the whole time and don't really do anything, but it's
not. Pfeffer's writing is addictive and easy to speed through. I was
never bored while reading The Dead and
the Gone
.

However,
I didn't like this book as much as the first,
Life as We Knew It. I didn't like the constant Catholic
references and sporadic Spanish phrases (with no translation...I don't
know Spanish and I'm planning on never learning it, so you're going to
have to help me with this Susan). I'm not sure why the author decided to
switch to different people and place rather than keep with the
Life as We Knew It storyline. But thankfully, the third book
in this trilogy is about Miranda and her family, and I'm exited to
continue her journey after the asteroid hit the moon.


If you're looking for a good book to make
you appreciate what you have and feel foolish for complaining about your
situation, this book is for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."