The Dead and the Gone (The Last Survivors #2)

 
0.0
 
4.5 (2)
2114 1
The Dead and the Gone (The Last Survivors #2)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
June 01, 2008
ISBN
9780152063115
Buy This Book
      
Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Life as We Knew It enthralled and devastated readers with its brutal but hopeful look at an apocalyptic event--an asteroid hitting the moon, setting off a tailspin of horrific climate changes. Now this harrowing companion novel examines the same events as they unfold in New York City, revealed through the eyes of seventeen-year-old Puerto Rican Alex Morales. When Alex's parents disappear in the aftermath of tidal waves, he must care for his two younger sisters, even as Manhattan becomes a deadly wasteland, and food and aid dwindle. With haunting themes of family, faith, personal change, and courage, this powerful new novel explores how a young man takes on unimaginable responsibilities.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
The Dead and the Gone ( Last Survivor's Book 2)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
17-year old Alex Morales is a normal teenager, he attends the St. Vicent de Paul collge-prep school in New York City, worries about whether he will be class president, has two annoying sisters, and has a job at a Pizzeria.

All of this is shattered one day when a cosmic event causes chaos and destruction on a global scale. His mother who works at the hospital doesn't come home that day, his father who is visting with relatives in Puerto Rico can't be contacted, food prices rise overnight and panic floods through the people of New York City.

Alex struggles to keep him and his sisters alive when the entire city starts to fall apart. Throughout the book he is forced to make extremly difficult decisions for survival that compromise both his moral ethics and that of his religios beliefs. He does things that he would have never thought himself capable of doing.

Although, the Dead and The Gone focuses on the aftermath of the same disaster mentioned in the first Last Survivors book: Life as We Knew It,this book is definitely more raw and gritty. Desperation and the need for survival are all conveyed more sharply than in the previous book. One of the items that adds to the more cataclysmic tone of this novel, is the setting. In the previous book where the reader was in the country mor opportunities were present for survival and less danger was evident. In the Dead and The Gone, in the city there is less room for error and less opportunities, resources are harder to come by,and help is less likely to be gained. As the book progress the main charcter Alex becomes increasingly desperate in his quest to send his sisters to a safer place.


The Dead and The Gone doesn't have a first person Narration like the first book, however the day by day format is still there, which allows a sharp contrast to be drawn between the intial days after the disaster and the months following. This is a excellent Post-apocalyptical book, and a must-read, especially if you've read the first book or love post-apocalyptical reads. The Dead and The Gone would also make a great books for discussion.

Age Groups: 14 and older.

Content: References to a shopkeeper wanting to by a girl, references to people commiting suicide, references to piles of bodies and similar descriptions, characters talking about religious figures in a derogatory manner, adult characters consuming alcohol, references to characters stealing, references to global disasters
Good Points
Brillant story, plot, and writing!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
The Dead and the Gone: An Excellent Dystopian Book
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kelsey

Wow. This book is awesome.
Devastating, depressing, heartbreaking, and tear-worthy...but still
awesome. It seems like it should be boring, because Alex and his sisters
stay in one place the whole time and don't really do anything, but it's
not. Pfeffer's writing is addictive and easy to speed through. I was
never bored while reading The Dead and
the Gone
.

However,
I didn't like this book as much as the first,
Life as We Knew It. I didn't like the constant Catholic
references and sporadic Spanish phrases (with no translation...I don't
know Spanish and I'm planning on never learning it, so you're going to
have to help me with this Susan). I'm not sure why the author decided to
switch to different people and place rather than keep with the
Life as We Knew It storyline. But thankfully, the third book
in this trilogy is about Miranda and her family, and I'm exited to
continue her journey after the asteroid hit the moon.


If you're looking for a good book to make
you appreciate what you have and feel foolish for complaining about your
situation, this book is for you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."