The Amaranth Enchantment

 
0.0
 
2.3 (3)
1407 0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
ISBN
1599903342
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

3 reviews

Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.3  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
A Charming Fairy Tale
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
For fans of Shannon Hale or Gail Carson Levine, The Amaranth Enchantment provides a refreshing addition to the genre of fairy tale adaptations. Lucinda Chapdelaine barely remembers her parents who died when she was very young. Raised by her well-meaning uncle and vicious aunt in a jewelry shop, she's about as poor and insignificant as she can get. Until a mysterious woman happens into the shop, leaving behind a mysterious and powerful jewel. Lucinda is determined to use the jewel - or the woman - to save her uncle from destitution. But his untimely death, and the theft of the jewel land her in the middle of the worst imbroglio she could have imagined. Accompanied by a friendly goat, an untrustworthy street urchin, and her own pluck, Lucinda must track down the jewel and bring it back to its owner - even if it means stealing it back, right from under the nose of the crown prince.
Good Points
A unique fairy tale with just the right amount of magic, the book features excellent secondary characters and a charming prince. Magic jewels, a beautiful manor, and a charming goat make you wonder if perhaps this isn't adapted from a traditional fairy tale after all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sadly, a disappointment
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Sara

From inside cover: "IT ONLY TAKES ONE MAGICAL MOMENT... Lucinda Chapdelaine was orphaned as a young child when her parents left for a royal ball and never returned. Ever since, she has toiled away in her uncle's lonely jewelry shop under the cruel hand of her step-aunt. But now, all at once, Lucinda's lot is about to change.

A mysterious woman, a handsome young gentleman, and an unusual gem all enter the shop on the very same day. The woman is none other than the dreaded Amaranth Witch, and she has a daring task to offer. If Lucinda succeeds, she will not only reclaim all that is rightly hers, but she will discover a true friend... and perhaps a true love. Family secrets, magical surprises, and another royal ball will test her, but Lucinda is determined to find her own happily ever after."

This book, though it had its good points, was a bit of a let down for me. The characters seemed underdeveloped and one-dimensional and the dialogue was lacking. The book never really got anywhere - it was predictable. It wouldn't have been very hard for me to set it down and never pick it back up.

Ratings (Out of 10):
Plot: 6
Characters: 6
Writing Style: 8
Romance: 6
Memorable: 2
Total: 28/50 (D)

I hate to not like a book, but I really didn't like this one. It simply wasn't... anything spectacular. Lately I've been reading a lot of really amazing books, so maybe that makes me a little more biased against the mediocre books. I recommend checking this book out from the library if you think the plot summary sounds good, otherwise skip it. There isn't any hidden gem hiding here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
disney-like
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by stephanie

Amaranth Enchantment reminded me of Cinderella. The fact that her parents died and left her with her evil aunt who sends her to clean the jewelry shop everyday. Rings a bell, anyone?

Besides the Disney-related theme, Amaranth Enchantment had the very typical fairytale plot. The evil aunt, a goat pet, a thief, a fairy of some sorts and, last but not least, a prince.

What I liked about Amaranth Enchantment was the goat called Dog. Seriously. Hes called Dog. Im not exactly sure why but I think it was because the goat looked like a dog? Probably the weirdest name ever but Dog was the cutest and funniest thing ever. I loved how he always managed to find Lucinda even when she was in jail or running as fast as she could, he would always, always manage to catch up with her. I remember reading about him and laughing but its just so amusing to picture a goat running after you and finding you in the most unlikely places.

Lucinda, on the other hand, wasnt a real in-depth character. Shes always pretty clueless. I mean, she even let this dirty, raggedy boy into her room and only protested vocally. She didnt actually physically do anything to get rid of him. And she ended up trusting him? Kind of dumb, really.

And the ending. It was the typical happily-ever-after ending that all Disney stories had. Overall, Amaranth Enchantment had no real meat in the plot and it basically followed the typical Disney plotlines instead creating its own.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."