Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)

 
3.0
 
1.0 (1)
1174 1
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
Publisher
Age Range
12+
Release Date
August 29, 2006
ISBN
0060766239
Buy This Book
      
The Spook and his apprentice, Thomas Ward, rid the county of witches, ghosts, boggarts, and other creatures of the dark. And there's some unfinished business to attend to in Priestown. Deep in the catacombs lurks a creature the Spook has never been able to defeat; a force so evil that the whole county is in danger. The Bane!

But the Bane is not their only enemy. The Quisitor arrives, intent on hunting down anyone who meddles with the dark. Thomas Ward and the Spook must prepare for the battle of their lives.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Mature MG Horror
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for 6 months. An unfortunate occurrence involving his estranged priest brother leaves the Spook an opening—a reason to revisit Priestown. There he hopes to tangle again with an ancient being that nearly killed him many years before. A creature that’s long been corrupting the city and seeping it’s influence into the surrounding region.

This book delved deeper into the supernatural medieval horror feel the first book had regularly hinted at. The Bane is technically a malevolent spirit, but via blood pacts it has gained in strength to the point where it’s begun taking on a corporeal form. It can read minds, see through the eyes of others, control those of weaker will, and “press” to death those it can’t control or bargain with (or, apparently, just for the fun of it.) It seems so overpowered an opponent, it has a sort of end boss feel--which honestly makes me wonder what could possibly match or top it in subsequent books.

While the writing style remained as effective for me as in the first book, I had a harder time with the characters this go around. Thomas was consistently bucking his master’s instructions, and his judgments regarding Alice trended past compassion and straight to foolishness. Side characters that were introduced often felt one-dimensional—serving a single purpose, and so not fleshed out any further than need be. And the Spook seemed completely outside his competency range for the entire book.
A highlight was learning the background on Thomas’ parents—how they met, and more in depth about his mother’s peculiar heritage. But that alone wasn’t enough to surmount my growing hesitations.

My biggest qualm with this book would have to be the blatant undercurrent of anti-Catholicism. (Please note: I am not Catholic.) In the first book, I had the impression of being introduced into a medieval fantasy in which all the British folklore comes alive. There was the barest impression of religion, and even of the idea of there being priests, but nothing specified. It could have gone anywhere from there with the worldbuilding. But it became pretty clear in this book that “priest” meant Catholic; and Catholic meant greed, corruption, and legalistic intolerance.

Allow me to justify my impression:
We open with a semi-graphic example of how arrogant and impotent priests are against the evils of this world. The Bane itself lives in the catacombs beneath the massive and opulent cathedral in the middle of Pristown. The Bane has corrupted the minds and wills of the priests, along with much of the countryside. (While it is offhandedly mentioned by a ‘brother’ that not all the priests have fallen under its influence, we are shown no examples of these at any point in the book. They are all presented as either treacherous—willing to make a pact with a demonic presence for their own gain—or as a thuggish army, enforcing injustice.) The secondary evil antagonist is the vicious and cruel Quisitor, who rounds up innocent people to torture and kill in the name of the church—and who operates unopposed by said church. At one point, there is even the over-the-top speculation by one of the priests that women don’t have souls.

Did bad things happen because of some within the Catholic church? Certainly. I’m not disputing that. But I am disputing this heavy-handed negativity being targeted at middle-grade readers regarding both the catholic church, and faith in general. Thomas makes note he was not-so-ironically named after the saint known as “doubting Thomas,” as he comes to solidify more of his perspective about the naive and uninformed faith his simple father has, but his extraordinary mother doesn’t share. The foregone conclusion comes across thusly: The church clearly has everything wrong regarding supernatural matters, and Thomas and the Spook clearly have most things right.

This is where I was hoping to be more drawn into a fantasy world, but alas… instead, I’ve determined my journey with this series is likely at an end.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Captivated
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
1.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by EshInoBi

Well, since I had already read the first book in this series, I was already captivated into the plot of a 'Spook''s life, especially Thomas Ward's. It was very interesting, and Tom had to do most of it all without his Master. The Bane, a persuasive being was like an evil force and convinced others to give them his blood to strengthen him because he was bound to a Secret Gate. The Spook mistrusts Alice, Tom's friend that's a witch that had saved him on a previous encounter with Alice's aunt, Bony Lizzie. With the Spook captured, how will Thomas ever destroy the Bane? This was an amazing story with an interesting storyline.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...

Latest Member Reviews

 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Christmas
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: CHRISTMAS is a fun activity book for elementary-aged children (and maybe older toddlers). The book features..."
Baby, Find the Shapes! (Indestructibles)
 
4.7
"BABY, FIND THE SHAPES! is a fun addition to the Indestructibles book series. The best feature of this book is..."
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
4.3
"Born in 1927, Althea Gibson experienced the racial and gender disparities that were prevalent at the time, but were in..."
Welcome to Jazz: A Swing-Along Celebration of America’s Music, Featuring “When the Saints Go Marching In”
 
5.0
"WELCOME TO JAZZ is a truly delightful and entertaining children's book. The book teaches about jazz in terms of history,..."
National Geographic Student World Atlas
 
5.0
" A wonderful representation of the world for teaching kids to love the earth they live on. With bright,..."
Ralph Masiello's Alien Drawing Book
 
4.7
"A cute way for kids to learn how to draw. This book takes kids through a step by..."
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."
Ready to Fly: How Sylvia Townsend Became the Bookmobile Ballerina
 
5.0
"READY TO FLY is a biography of Sylvia Townsend and how she became a ballerina. She always loved to dance..."
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
"An excellent read for children who love machines and/or space, ASTRO KITTENS: INTO THE UNKNOWN takes preschoolers for an unforgettable..."
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
"Wish you could teach your toddler about outer space and the basis for science-fiction? If so- or you just love..."
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
"Scholastic Inc brings origami and Harry Potter together in this book with fifteen foldable crafts! Each one has a different..."
Imagine
 
5.0
"IMAGINE is a gorgeous autobiographical poem with accompanying artwork and an inspirational tone. Herrera was the U.S Poet Laureate and..."
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
"AWESOME ACHIEVERS IN TECHNOLOGY is an approachable middle grade non-fiction book about people behind every day inventions that you may..."