The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
989 0
Publisher
Age Range
8+
ISBN
0375840907
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Great book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by tennis player

I read The Penderwicks on Gardam in just a couple of days and I really enjoyed it. I loved how all the characters were differnt and all had the own personalaties. Rosalind was kind and motherlike, Skye, stubborn and adventurous, Jane was creative and imaginative, and Batty was always playin secret Agents and trying to help her sisters with the save-Daddy-plan. This book was exciting and very well written, now I'm just waiting for the third. Keep up the great work Jeanne!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
should be called: The Penderwicks Jump Off the Page
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Julie M. Prince

I finished this book with a great, satisfied sigh. The author kept every promise she made to readers, beginning with the promise of an equally fantastic sequel to her first book.

National Book Award winning, THE PENDERWICKS: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy, was a great lead-in to this second book, but this one definitely stands alone.

I so enjoyed re-acquainting myself with the four sisters. Birdsall masterfully handled the rarely successful alternating viewpoint. With each girl having a distinct voice of her own, I was never once confused about the switch from Rosalind to Skye or from Jane to Batty.

I think this second book made me fall deeper in love with each sister. Rosalinds motherly kindness, Skyes stoic avoidance of all things dramatic, Janes flair for&everything, and Battys sweet and gentle nature all come through even more clearly in this timeless tale than the last.

But, how, in this ever-faster, evermore adventure-craving world does a quiet story like The Penderwicks stand out? Through good, solid characterization and empathetic storylines. Every single character could be there next to you, reading over your shoulder. I couldve sworn I felt Hound nudging my hand as I turned the pages. Theyre alive. Every single Penderwick.

Itd be easy to call this book a kick back to the days of THE FIVE LITTLE PEPPERS or a tip of the hat to the whimsical style of L.M. Montgomery. But, its more than that. Its the emergence of Jeanne Birdsall, author extraordinaire, here to show us that the fast track isnt necessarily the only track.

I think shes on the right track, and Im craving more of her delicious writing.

Off to turn another page&.


Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."