Thirteen

 
0.0
 
3.5 (2)
1441 0
Publisher
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0525478965
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Thirteen: A Little Young
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by designsbymikayla

"Thirteen" by Lauren Myracle is one book of a series. It is one installment in the series about Winny, her cooky family, and friends. Finally Winny is a teenager but, just when things should be going great, they get unexpectedly complicated. Her friends are going in opposite directions, her boyfriend, Lars, is fabulous, some of the time, and her mother is pregnant. So much is changing, its almost too much for Winny to bear. But, she manages, with the help of her friends, a breakup and a get-together, and a new sister. There sure are a lot of changes in the air.

In my opinion, this book is intersting but a little juvenile. I came into this series without reading the prior books; however, that didn't seem to affect the reading experience. Overall, the characters seemed too different. For example, Dinah is not maturing and Cinnamon is. Yes, this is supposed to be one of the main points of the book, but, I have never met a 13 year-old as immature as Dinah. They all need to grow up a little more before boyfriends are introduced into the mix. The home situation for Winny makes it interesting. The unexpected pregnancy of her mother is a very relatable situation, making the book even more relatable. In considering the entire book, I would say that, though it was not a total waste of time to read, it did seem a different from my normal reading and not in a good way. The ages just didn't fit the characters and the plot was slow. I suppose it would be better for someone between the ages of 10 and 12--I guess I'm just too old.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Not Twelve
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by The Story Siren

Winnie is finally going to be thirteen and she is pretty excited about it. She has her two bffs, Cinnamon and Dinah and her bf, Lars.

But being thirteen has a lot more in store for Winnie than she initially thought. She loves her two best friends, although they couldnt be more different. Winnie still remembers her old best friend Amanda and at times this makes things unsettling for Winnie. Then of course there is Lars. This is Winnies first "real" relationship with hand holding and her first kiss! But Lars is only human and he isnt perfect as much as Winnie would like him to be.

This was a very cute book. I hadnt read anything by Myracle before, but I enjoyed her look into the early-adolescent psyche. It isnt easy being thirteen and this books displays the tribulations gracefully, but still makes a point. Even though I think this books is aimed more for the younger
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."