Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
1768 0
Dragon Slippers (Dragon Slippers #1)
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
March 20, 2007
ISBN
1599900572
Buy This Book
      
Many stories tell of damsels in distress, who are rescued from the clutches of fire-breathing dragons by knights in shining armor, and swept off to live happily ever after.

Unfortunately, this is not one of those stories.

True, when Creel's aunt suggests sacrificing her to the local dragon, it is with the hope that the knight will marry Creel and that everyone (aunt and family included) will benefit handsomely. Yet it's Creel who talks her way out of the dragon's clutches. And it's Creel who walks for days on end to seek her fortune in the king's city with only a bit of embroidery thread and a strange pair of slippers in her possession.

But even Creel could not have guessed the outcome of this tale. For in a country on the verge of war, Creel unknowingly possesses not just any pair of shoes, but a tool that could be used to save her kingdom…or destroy it.

User reviews

4 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Fabulous author!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Fun, light, quick read!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Chantele

I have already read this book, but I haven't reviewed it yet. We read
it for book club this month, so I of course, read it again, and loved
it even more than the first time I read it!
Dragon Slippers is such
a fun book! At the very beginning of it, you fall in love with the main
character Creel. She is strong, determined, and is so funny!
It
all starts with her aunt making her get taken by a dragon to save her
family from poverty. (If a dragon takes a young maiden, a knight will
have to rescue her, marry her, and the family would be saved!) Creel,
on the other hand, quickly changes plans, and befriends the dragon,
taking with her a small token from his horde in exchange for not making
him fight a knight. She chooses a pair of blue slippers. She soon finds
herself on an excited journey full of plenty of dragons, new friends,
betrayal, romance, and a whole lot of sewing!
The characters are
fun, witty, and I really fell in love with most of them! I love
Shardas. He is my favorite character next to Creel. Who wouldn't want a
huge dragon as a friend!? :) The dragons are amazing, and wonderfully
written. Not the scary kind you read about in other books. Well, I
guess some could be scary if they wanted to be!:)
This book is so
much fun. It is the first of a three book series, and the third will be
out this year. I will definitely be buying it!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Adorable!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Beth

This book was just too cute!!  The storyline was very different, and I found that to be refreshing.  The characters were all interesting and deep for the length of the book.  I especially liked the twist on the legend of dragon hoards, especially the dogs!  This book is great for anyone who loves fantasy childrens books and dragons!

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
slippers? a weapon of mass destruction?
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by ~tiffany^^

Can you believe that a pair of slippers can destroy a whole Kingdom? Read Dragon Slippers to find out!

Creel, a country girl with no money, and only skills in embriodery, goes into town to find work. (Did I mention that she befriended two dragons, and received a pair of itchy slippers during the journey?) But finding work proves to be more difficult than she thought, as she has no place to stay or any relations in town. Eventually, she was hired at a shop, where she made friends and enemies. Her handiwork was noticed by the Duchess, but the soon-to-be-queen Princess Amelia was more interested in her unique slippers. Of course it helps that she has a friend who's a Prince, but she can only rely on herself if she wants to get sponsered to open her own shop. Except somewhere in the middle, her slippers were stolen by the annoying Princess Amelia, and her dragon friends started attacking the city...

Dragon slippers is a really good book, and although young children will enjoy it, older readers who are looking for a more fairytale-type story will also like it. The story starts in a light-hearted, humourous fashion, but as the story develops, it get very intense and fast-paced.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
"DOWN UNDER THE PIER is a beautifully illustrated poem about the magic that happens, not only above, but also below..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
World of Glass: The Art of Dale Chihuly
 
4.7
"This book is a great overview for fans and newcomers alike. The first three chapters cover Chihuly's childhood, college, and..."
Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
"'Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way,' an I Can Read book by Lori Haskins Houran, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali, is a..."
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
"'Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From' by Patrick Skipworth, illustrated by Nicholas Stevenson, is a creative book that..."
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
"ADORABLE PETS is full of quotes and pictures about animals. As the title suggests, the pictures are so cute and..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Flower Power: The Magic of Nature's Healers
 
5.0
"Flower Power is a truly stunning book. The large-scale pages look like paintings (I kind of want to frame them!)..."
Ready, Set, Go!: Sports of All Sorts
 
4.3
"READY, SET, GO!: SPORTS OF ALL SORTS is a fun trip through different sports. The book features rhyming phrases about..."
More than Marmalade: Michael Bond and the Story of Paddington Bear
 
5.0
"More than Marmalade is such a PRECIOUS book. It’s rare that I read a book in one sitting nowadays (due..."