Oggie Cooder

 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
2516 0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
6+
ISBN
0439927919
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A quirky, lovable main character
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Im starting to think that Sarah Weeks has a thing for interesting character names and words. In So B. It, you had the word soof and in Oggie Cooder youve got Oggies name (how fun is that?), the thing hes good at (charving a combination of chewing and carving cheese into shapes), and even other character names (like Donnica).

Oggie is quite a character. His teachers have described him over the years as being unusual or marching to the beat of a different drummer and hes definitely an individual. He wears hand-me-down clothes from his parents thrift shop (and they never match). He crochets his own shoelaces. And, of course, he charves.

All the other kids (except for Amy, you gotta love the girl) pretty much think Oggie is a total dork and make fun of him. Happily, hes pretty oblivious to it, as he doesnt have a deceptive bone in his body. Donnica is one of the worst, the Queen Bee of the elementary school.

But she suddenly takes a mysterious interest in Oggies charving skills and asks him to teach her how to do it. Everyone but Oggie wonders what her sudden interest in him is, but hes just happy to have the attention. There is, of course, a motive behind Donnicas change of heart&the Hidden Talents TV Show is coming to town and they are looking for kids with weird and goofy hidden talents.

But its Oggie who winds up being discovered instead of Donnica. She recovers by insinuating herself into the situation as his manager. Soon Oggies life is crazy and everyone, it seems, knows who he is and wants to be like him. Hes the next big craze.

But is it enough? Is it too much? Is Oggies life his own anymore? How much can he take? Is this instant fame what Oggie really wants?

This is a cute little read appropriate for readers aged 7 and up. Oggie is pretty adorable and everyone (other than Donnica) winds up pretty sympathetic. Turk, his dog, is also a charmer. The message of being true to yourself is a good one and Oggie is a good kid and a good role model (though you know hes going to be teased about the seersucker pants and the plaid stuff he wears forever).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Spunky!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Dede

Oggie Cooder is a spunky kid who charves (chews and carves) cheese when he is nervous. He doesn't have many friends, except Amy, who he sits with at lunch. He tries to get along with Donnica Perfecto and her friends, but the are popular and snotty. A talent show comes to town and Donnica tries to steal his talent, by tricking him into teaching her how to charve. She doesn't know the secrets though and Oggie gets mistakenly discovered for charving. What follows is believable. Everyone wants to be friends with Oggie, Donnica becomes his manager and, along with people from the talent show, start to try to change who he really is. They want him to charve different, bigger, better, were different clothes, act different. Oggie discovers that being yourself is better than fame. Cute message in a cute book.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One
 
4.0
"'No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One' by Paul Fleischman tells the story of the author..."
When the World Didn’t End: Poems
 
4.0
"Caroline Kaufman, otherwise known as @poeticpoison, has published her latest poems in WHEN THE WORLD DIDN’T END. The collection, which..."
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
4.0
"While there are a number of excellent books about women's suffrage available, including Kops' Alice Paul, Zimet's Roses and Radicals,..."
Imperfect: A Story of Body Image
 
3.5
"A memoir in graphic novel form, offering the personal account of a young Muslim girl’s nearly lifelong battle with perception,..."
Fearless Public Speaking
 
N/A
"If you have weak, wobbly knees and a pounding heart when you face an audience--don't worry, that's good! In Fearless..."
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
"A highly accessible biographical overview of (arguably) the most renowned and history-altering of all the United States presidents. The book..."
The (other) F Word: A Celebration of the Fat and Fierce
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
Stonewall Riots: Coming Out in the Streets
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
Hello Girls: Friendship on Fire
 
5.0
"Some friendships are unbreakable. In “Hello Girls,” the latest novel by Brittany Cavallaro and Emily Henry you will find a..."
The Rule of Many
 
4.0
"The Rule of Many is an action-packed sequel to “The Rule of One” written by Ashley and Leslie Saunders, twin..."
 
4.0
"THE YOUNG ACTOR’S HANDBOOK by Jeremy Kruse is essentially a 101 course on acting. With a bare bones approach, Kruse..."
A Thousand Sisters: The Heroic Airwomen of the Soviet Union in World War II
 
4.5
"This is a enthralling telling of the brave Soviet airwomen who flew missions during World War II. They fought in..."
Seven at Sea
 
4.0
"SEVEN AT SEA is told in alternating point of views between Erik and Emily Orton. After watching sailboats drifting on..."
Dear Ally, How Do You Write A Book?
 
5.0
"DEAR ALLY, HOW DO YOU WRITE A BOOK is perfect for anyone interested in writing. It doesn't matter if you're..."
What is Poetry? The Essential Guide to Reading and Writing Poems
 
4.0
"WHAT IS POETRY: THE ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO READING AND WRITING POEMS by Michael Rosen is a nonfiction, how-to book intended..."
Secret Soldiers: How the U.S. Twenty-Third Special Troops Fooled the Nazis
 
5.0
"During WWII, there were dozens and dozens of departments and units doing things that 95% of the population still has..."
Captured: An American Prisoner of War in North Vietnam
 
5.0
"Jeremiah Denton was a naval aviator who was shot down and captured by the North Koreans in 1965, and was..."
Colorblind
 
4.5
"While Colorblind won’t be shattering barriers, it opens the conversation in racism from a standpoint not yet explored. Colorblind,..."