The Aspiring Writer's Journal

 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
1890 0
The Aspiring Writer's Journal
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
10+
Release Date
December 01, 2006
ISBN
0810970589
Buy This Book
      
A daily journal for young writers everywhere, packed with inspiration and ideas!

To be a writer, you have to practice—according to award winning author Susie Morgenstern. As part of her mission to encourage young people to become writers (because as she says, “the more writers, the merrier!”), she created The Aspiring Writer’s Journal, filled with daily suggestions for writing activities. With quotes about writing and creative-writing topics on every page, this journal will help each young writer to hone his or her skills every day of the year.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A tool for young aspiring writers
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Are you an aspiring teen or pre-teen writer? This journal from Susie Morgenstern could help you motivate and inspire yourself. Its basically an entire year of writing prompts, starting with January 1st: Write 10 wishes for the new year to December 31st, when the prompt is to start your own novel.

The prompts range from activity-related writing (like visiting a museum and then writing about it) to writing poems to&well, just about anything. As a writer myself, I can tell you that the most important thing an aspiring writer can do (aside from reading everything they can get their hands on) is to&.you guessed it&write. As many other authors can tell you, it doesnt even necessarily matter what you write, especially in the beginning. The important thing is that you get out there and do it. Write. Then write some more.

Thats where a book like this can come in handy. If you have a hard time motivating yourself or a hard time getting past writers block, these type of writing prompts can really help you out.

That said, I think there are a few things that could have made this book more useful. For one, why tie it to a calendar year? If you picked up the book in March, rather than before January 1st, what are you supposed to do? Skip a couple of months? It seems like it would have been more useful to leave the dates open-ended.

Also, (though I may just be missing this, since I didnt read through every single writing prompt) if the end goal is to get you to start a novel, why not have writing prompts throughout the year that work towards that goal? Like perhaps starting an outline or character brainstorming or&well, you get the idea. The writing prompts are great for getting a person in the habit of writing and expanding your creativity. But, they arent that great for the actual concrete process of building a novel (and, then again, not everyone wants to write a novel&some people are poets. Others want to write short stories. Others would rather write non-fiction articles and essays.).

In a nutshell, if you are a beginning writer or someone who just needs a creative kick to get you going, this journal could really help you out. If you have more a concrete objective, it could be helpful, but it wont lay it all out for you. The goal really seems to be more about getting you in the habit of writing (and theres nothing wrong with that). Appropriate for ages 9 and up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Entertaining
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Brooke

I think that this book is great for young adults like myself. I enjoy looking forward to what is next to write about. The only negative thing I have to say about this book is that some of the writing prompts I don't know like ex. In your opinion, what does le clezio mean? I have no clue what that is. And another negative is the price. I am sure that you can get it cheaper from ebay or somewhere else but I paid $16.95 for it.Overall I give this book a 5 star raiting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...

Latest Member Reviews

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
Lali's Feather
 
5.0
"LALI'S FEATHER is a delightful and colorful picture book that explores birds and imagination. Lali is playing when she finds..."
A Friend for Mole
 
3.5
"A FRIEND FOR MOLE is a cute picture book that speaks to unlikely friendships and shared experiences. Mole is happy..."
 
5.0
"This book is a winner the moment a reader lays eyes on that cover--and the title. My niece--who is picky..."
 
5.0
"This book is absolutely adorable. Dragons can suddenly show up wherever the characters are and they have to..."
The Girl and the Ghost
 
4.0
"5 Reasons to Read THE GIRL AND THE GHOST 1.) Beautiful prose- This was my first time..."
Brother's Keeper
 
5.0
"BROTHER'S KEEPER is a highly engrossing and heartfelt read about a 12-year-old girl and her dangerous journey from North to..."
Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
"IZZY GIZMO AND THE INVENTION CONVENTION is a delightful, rhyming book about staying true to yourself and getting creative. Izzy..."
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
"THE WELCOME WAGON features four friends who decide to welcome a new family to Cubby Hill. As they travel to..."