The Aspiring Writer's Journal

 
3.0
 
5.0 (1)
1840 0
The Aspiring Writer's Journal
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
10+
Release Date
December 01, 2006
ISBN
0810970589
Buy This Book
      
A daily journal for young writers everywhere, packed with inspiration and ideas!

To be a writer, you have to practice—according to award winning author Susie Morgenstern. As part of her mission to encourage young people to become writers (because as she says, “the more writers, the merrier!”), she created The Aspiring Writer’s Journal, filled with daily suggestions for writing activities. With quotes about writing and creative-writing topics on every page, this journal will help each young writer to hone his or her skills every day of the year.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A tool for young aspiring writers
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Are you an aspiring teen or pre-teen writer? This journal from Susie Morgenstern could help you motivate and inspire yourself. Its basically an entire year of writing prompts, starting with January 1st: Write 10 wishes for the new year to December 31st, when the prompt is to start your own novel.

The prompts range from activity-related writing (like visiting a museum and then writing about it) to writing poems to&well, just about anything. As a writer myself, I can tell you that the most important thing an aspiring writer can do (aside from reading everything they can get their hands on) is to&.you guessed it&write. As many other authors can tell you, it doesnt even necessarily matter what you write, especially in the beginning. The important thing is that you get out there and do it. Write. Then write some more.

Thats where a book like this can come in handy. If you have a hard time motivating yourself or a hard time getting past writers block, these type of writing prompts can really help you out.

That said, I think there are a few things that could have made this book more useful. For one, why tie it to a calendar year? If you picked up the book in March, rather than before January 1st, what are you supposed to do? Skip a couple of months? It seems like it would have been more useful to leave the dates open-ended.

Also, (though I may just be missing this, since I didnt read through every single writing prompt) if the end goal is to get you to start a novel, why not have writing prompts throughout the year that work towards that goal? Like perhaps starting an outline or character brainstorming or&well, you get the idea. The writing prompts are great for getting a person in the habit of writing and expanding your creativity. But, they arent that great for the actual concrete process of building a novel (and, then again, not everyone wants to write a novel&some people are poets. Others want to write short stories. Others would rather write non-fiction articles and essays.).

In a nutshell, if you are a beginning writer or someone who just needs a creative kick to get you going, this journal could really help you out. If you have more a concrete objective, it could be helpful, but it wont lay it all out for you. The goal really seems to be more about getting you in the habit of writing (and theres nothing wrong with that). Appropriate for ages 9 and up.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
Entertaining
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Brooke

I think that this book is great for young adults like myself. I enjoy looking forward to what is next to write about. The only negative thing I have to say about this book is that some of the writing prompts I don't know like ex. In your opinion, what does le clezio mean? I have no clue what that is. And another negative is the price. I am sure that you can get it cheaper from ebay or somewhere else but I paid $16.95 for it.Overall I give this book a 5 star raiting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."