Scorpions

 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
3149 0
Scorpions
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
June 20, 1988
ISBN
0064406237
Buy This Book
      
Bad Trouble

Lately everybody's messing with Jamal. His teachers, the kids at school, even his dad. And now that Jamal's brother Randy's in the slam, Crazy Mack has a crazy idea. He wants Jamal to take control of the Scorpions and run crack.

All the gang jive--Jamal has no use for it. Unless, like some say, it's the only way to cop the bread for Randy's appeal...

The story of twelve-year-old Jamal, whose life changes drastically when he acquires a gun. Though he survives the experience, it's not without sacrificing his innocence and possibly his relationship with his best friend.

User reviews

2 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
life in harlem i guess
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by peacechik

this book was really interesting because, the boys in here seemed so innocent...too innocent to be in a gang. this book showed how even young people lik myself are caught up in bad situations.

this boy is a "troublemaker" in school and he never turns his homework in. he has a problem with this bully as well as the fact his brother is in jail and he and his family are trying to get an appeal for him. The main character(i cant think of his name) gets a message from his brother in jail that he wants him to lead the gang he was leader of. Jamal(i remember his name now) isnt sure what to do but decides to do what his brother says and with his best friend, tito, goes meets with one of his brother's friends who gives him a gun. the rest of the story really deals with jamal's guilt about having a gun in the 1st place and him threatening people with it including his bully. the book ends slightly tragically but if u want to know more u better read the book. :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Scorpions is a great read
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Alex C.


The book Scorpions by Walter Dean Myers is a realistic fiction. It is set in the early 90s in a large city with gangs, drugs and violence. The main character is a 12 year old African-American boy named Jamal. The basic plot is that Jamal has to get 1,000 dollars for his brothers appeal in court. He and his best friend Tito get a gun and Jamal is pressured to become the leader of his brothers gang, the Scorpions. Jamal doesnt want anything to do with them, but it seems he doesnt have a choice.
Jamal has to deal with his brothers gang problem, and thats when his problems seem to get much worse. You can tell that the characters dont speak proper English. This sentence is a perfect example, They say they want to vote for a new leader, but I told them Randy say you was the new leader. I loved the part where Jamal and Tito try to hide a gun from Jamals mom and Titos Grandmother.
Jamal lives with his mom and his sister. His brother, Randy, is in jail. Jamals dad moved away when he was younger. Jamal only has one friend named Tito. Tito is Porto Rican. They have been friends for a very long time. At school Jamal has to deal with a bully who teases him for being poor. Jamal wants to earn 1,000 dollars for Randys appeal at court. Crazy Mac, Randys war lord wants Jamal to be the leader of Randys gang the Scorpions, but Jamal doesnt want to have anything to do with them. Mac wants him to run crack to earn the 1,000 dollars and Jamal doesnt have much of a choice. The story is a well written 3rd person point of view.
I really liked Scorpions and it is a great easy read. I could really connect with the main character, because it seamed so realistic. The book is very intense, and its very hard to put it down. This book is easily the easiest book to believe that Ive ever read. I find it easy to believe because the characters and situations are the same that are in real life. I think its a great book and anyone looking for a good read should read it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
On These Magic Shores
 
5.0
"Twelve-year-old Minerva "Minnie" Soledad Miranda has big goals. She wants to be the first Latina president of the United States..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"I always struggle to review these types of novels--these black lives matter, civil rights-esque novels. I often go into them..."
Soldier Dogs #5: Battle of the Bulge
 
4.5
"Juliette's father is a baker in Belgium in 1944, and has been threatened by the occupying Nazis into giving them..."
Dog Days in the City
 
4.0
"In The Unlikely Story of a Pig in the City, Josie and her large family adopted Hamlet, a pig. When..."
Daniel Coldstar #2: The Betrayer
 
4.0
"Copy provided by Young Adult Books Central After the evens in The Relic War, Daniel, Jasper the..."
The Dragon Egg Princess
 
5.0
"Change is coming to Kidahara, a magical forest in the Joson, a kingdom in a diverse realm where there is..."
Efrén Divided
 
5.0
"Efrén and his family work very hard, but still struggle to make ends meet. His father works several jobs, and..."
Worse Than Weird
 
4.0
"Mac lives with her parents, Hank and Coral, in a small house in Portland. Small, as in she sleeps in..."
Daring Darleen, Queen of the Screen
 
4.0
"Darleen comes from a long line of entertainers; her father and his siblings are all part of Matchless Studios, a..."
In the Red
 
4.0
"Michael Prasad and his family live on a colony on Mars, under a dome that controls the environment. His father,..."