Kristy's Great Idea (BSC Graphix #1)

 
5.0
 
3.0 (1)
2068 0
Kristy's Great Idea (BSC Graphix #1)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 01, 2006
ISBN
0439802415
Buy This Book
      
Follows the adventures of Kristy and the other members of the Baby-Sitters Club as they deal with crank calls, uncontrollable two-year-olds, wild pets, and parents who do not always tell the truth.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Great Idea, Great Graphics
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Twenty years ago, Ann M. Martin and Scholastic had a great idea: The Baby-Sitters Club. What began as a modest book series about four middle-school best friends, their baby-sitting jobs, and their families became an international phenomonon, spawing over 100 books, a television show, a film, and more, appealing to readers of all ages all around the globe.

Scholastic has re-released four BSC books as graphic novels. The Baby-Sitters Club Graphix line includes:

Kristy's Great Idea
The Truth About Stacey
Mary Anne Saves the Day
Claudia and Mean Janine

Raina Telgemeier has done a fantastic job with these books. Not only does she provide adorable artwork, but she remains faithful to the original stories. The text - the majority of which has been pulled straight from the books - was approved by Ann M. Martin. There are a few little contemporary updates - a word here, a gadget there - but, happily, the stories and the words remain 99.9% unchanged. For example, the brief references to G.I. Joe and Rainbow Brite in Kristy's Great Idea remain in tact. (That made me incredibly happy because I am as big a fan of Rainbow Brite as I was of the BSC - maybe even bigger!)

With her aforementioned adorable artwork, Raina Telgemier has created characters that not only look their age but are dressed appropriately. She has captured the essence of these familiar faces and their personalities. The characters change clothes often, which is rare in comics, but their wardrobes are always modest. Tomboy Kristy wears comfortable, sporty attire; shy Mary Anne wears her hair in braids and dons schoolgirl skirts due to her father's strict rules; fashionable Stacey has cute tops and jeans; and creative Claudia shows off funky ensembles that are her trademark. On the cover of the novel, Kristy sports a shirt for 06, but one could interpret that as 2006 or simply think 06 is a player number. The clothes don't scream "trendy" at one extreme, nor "1986" in the other. In fact, the only part of the pictures that differed from my mental pictures of the girls were Claudia's bangs, which are dyed pink on the covers. Other than that, the illustrations stay completely true to the book's descriptions of the girls, their relatives, and their clients. Telgemeier conveys the girls' emotions and energy very well.

The graphic novels are around 180 pages in length. Kristy's Great Idea begins with Kristy suffering in a classroom on a hot afternoon - just as readers remember it. The stories are timeless, focusing on friendship, first crushes, families, and school. The original characters were twelve years old and in seventh grade when the books began; the majority of the readership is composed of students in elementary school and middle school. The books discuss respect, loyalty, and responsibility, mixing in plenty of fun, secrets, and slumber parties.

Those who read the books in the 1980s and 1990s may now share the books with their own children, students, and younger siblings . . . and add these well-done graphic novels to their own collections! A must-have for libraries - public, school, or home - and for bookstores.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
A Classic with a new twist
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Springhair

The Baby Sitters Club series has been around for ages. Now readers can get the opportunity to read them in graphic novel format. Its the same great story you love, but now told a whole different way. A great opportunity for readers who want to become reacquainted with the series, or a wonderful chance to introduce new people to the books as well. This is the first one, in which the club is formed. It doesnt have much more plot than that, but its a really good start for the rest of the books.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."