Little Monkey's Big Peeing Circus

 
0.0
 
2.0 (1)
1410 0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
ISBN
0810939495
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

1 reviews

Already have an account? or Create an account
A little potty humor
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Kim Peek

I'll admit that I may well be the only person on Earth who does not "get" this book. I'll state what I see as the facts. If it sounds intriguing, pick up the book. My one bit of advice: Let the buyer beware.

Little Monkey says, "I can pee really well." He wants to start a peeing circus. Mimi doesn't want to be left out of the show. She wants to pee too. This part of the book is cute and is probably appropriate for young, potty training children. Kids will get this message--everyone wants to be a big kid! Peeing is cool!

This is where I have difficulty with the book. I think this book tries to go for the shock value of potty humor. Unfortunately, it goes beyond the humor of farting dogs and books like "Everyone Poops" when it discusses the differences between boy and girl parts.

The text on the first page of the book says, "Little Monkey had a little peepee. He showed it to Mimi." The illustration shows Little Monkey's pants down and Mimi's head waist-high looking at his peepee. At another point in the book, Little Monkey takes a look at Mimi. Her tutu is up and her pants are down. He says, "Your peepee is gone." She says, "Don't you want to look for it?"

I see two stories here--one is a celebration of peeing. The other, a discussion of private parts. I feel it's a shame the boy/girl parts were brought up. While this book may work for some families, it doesn't work for mine. Private parts are private. Even toddlers need to learn that it's not okay to check out other people's bodies.

This book is a celebration of peeing with gross out humor. I realize the author and illustrator had no sexual intent. However, we live in a time when we must protect our children. This includes teaching them to respect their bodies and the privacy of others at a young age.

If you love potty humor, you may enjoy this book. But, let the buyer beware.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."