• Books
  • Kids Fiction
  • The Penderwicks : A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

The Penderwicks : A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

 
5.0
 
3.7 (6)
1564 1
Publisher
Age Range
8+
ISBN
0375931430
Buy This Book
      

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Charming Story That Won a Huge Award
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
A leisurely, summery, old-fashioned tale draws the reader irresistibly in when she opens this book, which won the National Book Award in the Young People's Literature category.

When the four Penderwick sisters, Rosalind, Skye, Jane, and Batty head off to vacation in a country cottage with their dog, Hound, and their widowed father, they have no idea what adventures await them. The mansion next door holds the frightening Mrs. Tifton, and (happily) her son, Jeffrey. Although their meeting is not auspicious (Skye accidentally body-slams him and then says terrible things about his mother), Jeffrey and the Penderwicks soon form close bonds.

Their adventures are many, ranging from Jeffrey saving four-year-old Batty's life to the group surviving a formal dinner party. An over-riding question nags the reader: can Jeffrey be saved from an inevitable stay at military boarding school?

Through it all, the family connections are heartwarming and yet true. Friendship is a major force in the characters' lives, as is the promise of a someday romance (which was handled skillfully and realistically). This gentle tale, refreshingly lacking in irony and mean spiritedness (no mean girls, here) manages to be exciting and fun, and is sure to become a classic.
TM
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(2)
 
(1)
 
(2)
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.7  (6)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Absorbing
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
I really enjoyed this book for what it was. It kept me up till late, I finished it in one day and it was exactly right. It is a kids' book though and I would have been obsessed with it and gotten lost in it at 10, but now I would just read it to my (very distant) kids again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
It was one amazing adventure
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by cassurunie

            The book The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall was one great adventure on every page. You would think it's just a normal book, but it is the exact opposite. Its fantastic, because it makes you anticipate what is going to happen next.  It has many exciting adventures that keep you at the edge of your seat.
           The only thing I disliked about this book was when one of the main characters, Batty, runs away.  That made me nervous but the story came back around and the plot continued.  I thought that the sixteenth chapter was the most interesting because it dealt with this situation. This book may have had many many parts where you had to stop and think, but over all this was one amazing adventure. I highly recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
four sweet sisters
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by mearley

A very sweet story of four sisters who go on vacation with their widowed father to a little cottage on the grounds of a mansion owned by the very proper Mrs. Tifton. The girls befriend Mrs. Tifton's son and the teenage gardener. All four sisters manage to get into some sort of trouble during the summer, whether it's letting rabbits out of their cages or barging into a formal garden party.

This book had the sense of being from another era, a carefree time of innocence. At times the story was occasionally too sweet for my taste, but overall it was refreshing. The Penderwick sisters seem to be modern cousins of Anne of Green Gables.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Awsome book
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by tennisplayer

I read, THe Penderwicks:A summer tale of 4 sisters, two rabitts, and a ver interesting boy during the summer an dloved it alot. The story tells about four sisters and there stay in the mountains at a place called Arundel. The sisters meet a new freind named Jefforey and his disapproving mother.I loved how each of the sisters had a voice of there own and I must say that i always knew who was talking. This book was relly good and I deffinatly reccomend it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Eh
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by bookworm9

The title says it all-- four sisters (and their widowed dad) spend the summer in a vacation house on the property of a rich woman and her son, Jeffrey. The girls soon befriend Jeffrey, and help him with some fairly standadrd mg-book-problems with his family.

This book is written to be intentionally "old-fashioned," which I applaud, but not at the expense of good characters, which is what happens. The plot is fairly predictable, and the four sisters are fairly cliche, with the exception of maybe Syke, who comes accross as wooden. If you're looking for a good four-sisters-in-summer story, try The Exiles by Hilary McKay, which is a thousand times more entertaining.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Rock On
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Rabby

This is the best book i have ever read. I read it in 3 or 4 days. Please tell me when your next book comes out if you can. And is the next book going to follow the Penderwicks? I hope the one next is as great as the first. Best Wishes keep it up!!!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."