Black Beauty

Hot
 
4.5
 
5.0 (6)
30845 0
Black Beauty
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
ISBN
0517189585
Buy This Book
      

When his beloved owners are forced to sell him, Black Beauty leaves his life as a young, care-free colt behind him and embarks on a working life of misery. Cruelly treated by his new masters, Anna Sewell rails against animal mistreatment in this poignant tale of a horse whose spirit can not be broken.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

A Sweeping Saga
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
This is the story of Black Beauty, a gorgeous colt with so much promise, he is the apple of his owner's eye until something happens and Black Beauty must be sold. Thus begins the sometimes exhilarating, sometimes scary and often sad journey of Black Beauty through the world. He changes owners several times, and some treat him better than others. In the end, he finds redemption and peace.

It's a lovely story, though sad in many places. I really enjoyed that the story is told from Black Beauty's perspective. I think the style of writing might be overly detailed for what today's modern reader is used to (It IS a classic ...), but it's a story worth reading nonetheless. As a horse lover, I ate this up, and I highly recommend it to any young reader.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 86 31

User reviews

6 reviews

 
(6)
4 stars
 
(0)
3 stars
 
(0)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (6)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
View most helpful
Black Beauty Summary/Review
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Black Beauty is about the life of a handsome black horse. Black Beauty’s life story is full of ups, downs, horrible grooms, gentle masters, and amazing friends. The story starts with his first home and ends with his last. In the adventure in between we see his hardships and his luck. We see an ancient world through the eyes of a gentle stallion. We see the viciousness of the world around Beauty, and all the good people can bring if they go against it. Beauty learns to be a loyal companion. Even when his masters mistreat him; Beauty somehow finds a someplace in his heart to forgive them.
Good Points
This book is very good. It’s not full of action, but it’s an adventure just the same. Black Beauty has it’s thrilling moments as well as boring moments. It’s the perfect book to just settle down on the couch with. Anna Sewell had created a beautiful, classical, novel. Black Beauty was wonderful and I couldn’t put it down. A definite must read.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 127 26
Summary/Review of a Classic!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Black Beauty is a novel about the life of a horse told in his own eyes. The story follows Black Beauty’s hard life where he wasn’t always treated kindly. As he goes through the hands of different owners, he learns how to be loyal even if he is not treated nicely. When Black Beauty goes through all these experiences, he encounters illness and injury as well as having a good home and a good life. When you read this book, you will experience all these things and ride right along Black Beauty’s side!
Good Points
I really enjoyed this book a lot. I loved how Anna Sewell makes you feel what Black Beauty feels at that moment. I also liked how she explains all of the gear the horses have to wear. She describes their feelings about the gear, like if they prefer a special type of rein and things similar to that. The last thing I liked was that she explained things that happened around that time. For example, it says that almost every man drank and then rode their horses too hard. These are many things that made me love this book!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 27 7
Beautiful!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jessica

Very Beautiful and touching in so many ways.  I am a huge horse lover and if you are one just as I am, then this book will definately touch your heart.  It did the first time I read it which was about two years ago.  I think the book was wonderful. Yes, it was sad in some parts, but very beautiful and very touching.  And, another reason I think it was cool is because it was actually told in the horses point of view.  And, it is kind of sad because it seems like no one wants this horse because it is getting passed around from family to family.  I think it was told in a wonderful way though.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 13
Moving
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Jennifer

Black Beauty is a different kind of book. It tells the story of a horse throughout his life. The twist is that the horse,Black Beauty, will be telling it. He tells of his childhood, to being ridden, to being sold to many different people. He meets friends, and they eventually leave him. This is an very sad book that will wretch your heart if your a horse lover like I am. I loved the book many times, though I did cry the first time I read it. It is good for anyone who loves horses, and heart wrentching stories.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 6
a classic, of course
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by joanne

I read Black Beauty when I was very young. It instantly became one of my favorite books of all time. Black Beauty is a touching story of a horses life...told from a horses point of view! This story is interesting; it grips you from the first. A treasure in itself, this book has a simple plot, but is both beautiful and wonderful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 12 7
An animal story
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
Reader reviewed by Marietta

Black Beauty is handsome and spirited, with a sweet temper.
When he is four years old he is sold to a new owner who gently breaks him in. He is no longer free to gallop around the fields yet there is happiness and adventure among the hardship as his situation changes from being a carriage horse on a country estate to a cab horse in town. At the same time he is aware that his well-being and future fate depend very much on the kindness or cruelty of his various masters.

Black Beauty is written in a wonderful and touching way, showing the ill-treatment of horses at the hands of their owners. When I read the book I enjoyed it very much, but felt sad and sorry that such things really have happened to these beautiful and noble animals.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 16 9
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."