Infestation (Whispering Pines #2)

Infestation (Whispering Pines #2)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 14, 2021
ISBN
978-1534460508
Buy This Book
      
In this creeptastic sequel to Whispering Pines, Rae and Caden take on flesh-eating centipedes that may be alien in nature—perfect for fans of Stranger Things!

Caden’s brother Aiden is many things: clever, powerful, vindictive. Unforgiving. And now, he’s also mysteriously free from the hellish dimensional prison that Caden had trapped him in. Caden is sure that Aiden is out for revenge, but since his parents refuse to see the danger when it comes to his brother, he’ll have to find a way to survive on his own.

Meanwhile, Rae, freed from the threat of the eye-snatching, monstrous Unseeing, has once again turned all her focus toward finding her missing father. She believes the town’s shady alternative energy company, Green On!, might have the information she seeks, so she joins their internship program to get answers. Unfortunately, this means sacrificing her friendship with Caden, who wants nothing to do with Green On! or anyone associated with it.

When a special assignment from Rae’s internship leads her to uncover an infestation of giant, flesh-eating centipedes that may be alien in nature, she needs to convince Caden to help her get rid of them. The two friends must learn to work together again, because this time, it’s not just Whispering Pines’ fate that hangs in the balance, but the world’s.

Editor review

1 review
Creeptastic Sequel
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
After the horrific events of Whispering Pines, Rae, Caden and the others are trying to go forward. Caden's brother Aiden is in the other place, and his family's magic seems unable to get him out, and the Unseeing took many of their classmates. Rae is still dealing with the disappearance of her father, and the town is unsure about the corporate stalking that Green On! is soing in the town. Some of the children, like Vivienne, whose mother works for Green On! think is a great corporation, and there is an internship opportunity at the company that Rae, Alyssa, and Vivienne all seize. Also there is Blake, whom the girls don't trust. When Aiden reappears, Caden struggles with how to deal with him. Rae and Blake both run into various giant insect like creatures who torture goats for their various purposes, and also take some of the smaller bugs back into their houses. They realize that something must be done about the infestation, and after they successfully fight the creatures with a bug spray created by Green On!, they further question that corporation's motives. There are still probably going to be threats to Whispering Pines, since Rae and Caden decide to form a team to take care of any future occurrences.
Good Points
Exploding goats. Giant menacing spiders. Hidden spaceships. Evil alternate dimensions. Tweens saving the world. It's all here. Nicely creepy tale with enough action to keep the pace brisk, enough friend drama to heighten the suspense, and otherworldly occurrences to keep Condie's The Darkdeep or Stranger Things fans happy.

There were a lot of characters to keep straight, ao readers who like different viewpoints and the interplay between characters will enjoy this one a lot. The different plot lines come together in surprising ways, and connection between the Other Place and Green On! is something I will look forward to seeing more about in the next book.

Really, my love for this just keeps coming back to the exploding things. Every middle grade book should have things that explode.

There are a lot of great creepy series coming out, like Lawrence's Stitchers, Short's Mutant Mushroom Takeover, Sutherland's Haunted books and all of K.R.Alexander's creepy titles, so readers who like to read before bedtime and then have to sleep with the lights on will also enjoy this new title by Lang and Bartkowski. Keeping a heavy duty flyswatter by the bed might help as well!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account