Where Three Oceans Meet

New
Where Three Oceans Meet
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 24, 2021
ISBN
978-1419741296
Buy This Book
      
A child, mother, and grandmother travel all the way to the end of the earth in this picture book that celebrates multigenerational love—perfect for fans of Drawn Together and Alma.

“I want to see what’s at the end of the earth!”

Sejal, Mommy, and Pati travel together to the southern tip of India. Along the way, they share meals, visit markets, and catch up with old friends.
For Pati, the trip retraces spaces she knows well. For Mommy, it’s a return to the place she grew up. For Sejal, it’s a discovery of new sights and sounds. The family finds their way to Kanyakumari, where three oceans meet, and delight in making it to the end of the earth together.
This own voices picture book celebrates the beauty of India and the enduring love of family.

Editor review

1 review
It's Not the Destination as much as the Memories on the Way
Overall rating
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Senjal and her mother decide while they are in India visiting their Pati (grandmother) to all take a trip to the tip of India to where three Oceans meet. Along the way the audience is immersed in the food and scenery that Senjal would have experienced on the trip. The illustrations are rich and bright and the love between the family members is communicated with the rich warm tones of the colors used. The text is descriptive and gives a little glimpse into the culture of India.
What Left Me Wanting More:
The beginning of the story doesn’t really set up their background for us to understand that the reason Senjal isn’t fluent when she speaks to her Pati is that they have come from America on a visit. It isn’t until the end that there is more clarity on how the trip to the tip of India came about.
Final Verdict:
The love of family shines through the pictures and text of the story. It is easy to see that it is not so much the destination but all the memories and time spent together along the journey that strengthens their bonds to each other. This book gives a little glimpse into the rich culture of India in the food, activities, and places they travel to arrive where the three oceans meet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account