The Snowflake

The Snowflake
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 14, 2021
ISBN
978-0062563606
Buy This Book
      
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of Tad and The Storm Whale, comes a dazzling wintery tale about a young girl wishing for a perfect Christmas tree, and a young snowflake wishing for the perfect place to land.

High, high up in the clouds, a tiny snowflake is made. Perfectly fluffy and white, she tumbles and bounces on the clouds. But then, to her dismay, she begins to fall. . . .

Exquisitely written and beautifully illustrated, The Snowflake tells the separate stories of one snowflake and one little girl—both longing for their own special place in the world—that spin together into a magical ending. The snowflake and Noelle discover that wherever we go, and however we fall, in the end, we all find a way to shine.

Perfect for fans of The Night Before Christmas, illustrated by Loren Long, and Dasher by Matt Tavares.

Editor review

1 review
lovely picture book, perfect for the holidays
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
THE SNOWFLAKE is a beautiful story about hope, finding your place, and coming together. A little snowflake is released from a cloud and floating on the wind - she is not sure where she is going and wants to stay with the cloud, but it encourages her that she will find her place. She travels on and on. Meanwhile, a little girl named Noelle is traveling home with her Pappie, and her path intersects with that of the little snowflake. She wishes for a fancy tree like in the store window, though it is not possible, and instead finds a little branch that she decorates. She leaves it outside her window, hoping snow will fall and cover it. When she awakes the next morning, she finds one snowflake on the top - the little snowflake has found her perfect place!

What I loved: This is a sweet and lovely read that is perfect around the holidays. The themes of finding your way, making the best of what you have, and hope resonate throughout this beautiful story. The writing is soft and travels between Noelle and the snowflake with powerful results. The illustrations are just perfect, in Davies's usual style, with the right amount of details and plenty of visual interest to capture young imaginations. This is a sweeping and gorgeous story, perfect for a fall or winter read, that is sure to captivate and warm the heart.

What left me wanting more: As a small point, some of the text on the snowstorm pages is really hard to read, as it is black font over a medium/darkish blue. This is particularly challenging in lowlight such as bedtime or evening. Luckily, most pages are easy to read with the clear font over light or white color backgrounds.

Final verdict: A lovely story of hope and finding your place, THE SNOWFLAKE is a beautiful read that will appeal to picture book lovers of all ages. Highly recommend as fall or winter pick.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account