Sleepover at the Haunted Museum (21) (Mermaid Tales)

Sleepover at the Haunted Museum (21) (Mermaid Tales)
Author(s)
Age Range
6+
Release Date
June 15, 2021
ISBN
978-1534457324
Buy This Book
      
It’s almost Shelly’s birthday! She can’t wait to have her friends over and eat her grandfather’s homemade pizza. But when Pearl gets involved in the party planning, the ideas get out of hand. Soon Shelly’s small sleepover turns into an overnight extravaganza at the People Museum, complete with a scavenger hunt and scary stories!

Shelly’s not so sure about spending the night in the museum with its dark spaces and creaking exhibits. But when the day arrives, everything goes swimmingly—that is, until strange, glowing lights start to appear. Could the People Museum be haunted? Or is something fishy going on?

Editor review

1 review
Party with a Mermaid
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Third grade mermaid Shelly is looking forward to celebrating her birthday. She's not having a huge party, just pizza with her grandfather and a couple of close friends, Echo and Kiki. When Pearl overhears the three talking, she assumes that she will be invited, since Shelly came to her birtheday party, albeit as a singer when someone else canceled. Shelly lets Pearl know she is only allowed to have the two friends, and that the plans for the celebration are modest, but Pearl keeps pushing for bigger and bigger ideas. Shelly and her grandfather live above the People Museum that the grandfather runs, so plan to have the party in the museum. Eventually, Shelly does end up inviting all of the girls in the class, but the grandfather still makes pizza. During the sleepover, strange things keep happening at the museum. Could it be haunted?
Good Points
This is the 21st book in the series, so there were a few things that I wasn't sure about (some of the students live at the boarding school?), but most of the story didn't require a lot of background. This has a lot of mermaid and ocean puns and references, so fans of books like Hazen's Mermaid Mary Margaret or Kirkpatrick's And Then I Turned Into a Mermaid will enjoy this easy reader on a similar topic.

There's a lot of girl drama that starts to surface in third grade, and Pearl's over the top offers of help, and the fact that insinuates herself into the party despite not really being invited will resonate with young readers. Her makeover attempts with fancy products are humorous, and add to some of the suspense later in the book.

I enjoyed the fact that there was some science in the book; Shelly's class covers bioluminescence, and it later plays a key partin the plot. There is a note at the back explaining more about it.

Beginning readers love series books and enjoy revisiting their favorite characters. This would be a good series for readers who like Osborne's Magic Tree House books, Malcolm's Jewel Princess series, or the work of Daisy Meadows.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account