Unseen Magic

Unseen Magic
Unseen Magic
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 22, 2022
ISBN
978-0063057982
Buy This Book
      
The trick to all magic is: you can only see it if you know where to look.

The magic-infused town of Aldermere is the first place eleven-year-old Fin has ever felt safe—and she’ll do whatever it takes to save her home when she accidentally unleashes a shadow self who wreaks havoc everywhere she goes. Emily Lloyd-Jones’s middle grade debut is an enchanting exploration of self-discovery and finding the place you truly belong. Unseen Magic is for fans of A Wish in the Dark and A Tangle of Knots.

Aldermere is a town with its own set of rules: there’s a tea shop that vanishes if you try to force your way in, crows that must be fed or they’ll go through your trash, and a bridge that has a toll that no one knows the cost of. Some say that there may even be bigfoots wandering through the woods.

For Fin, Aldermere is her new home. But she’s worried that she’ll do something to mess it up—that she was the reason she and her mother have constantly moved from place to place for so long. When an upcoming presentation at her school’s science fair gives her increasing anxiety, Fin turns to magic to ease her fears. The cost is a memory, but there are things from her past Fin doesn’t mind forgetting. This will be the last time she relies on magic anyway, she's sure.

Except things don’t go exactly as planned. And instead of easing her anxiety, Fin accidentally unleashes an evil doppelganger. Suddenly Aldermere is overrun with unusual occurrences—and Fin is the only one who knows why. She will have to face her fears—literally—to stop it.

Emily Lloyd-Jones crafts an atmospheric novel full of magic and mischief while exploring what it means to stand up to your fears and accept yourself. Unseen Magic will captivate readers of Anna Meriano’s Love, Sugar, Magic series and Natalie Lloyd’s A Snicker of Magic.

Editor review

1 review
Unseen magic is a lesson in facing that which you fear
Overall rating
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
What I loved: Unseen magic contains some truths that anyone at any age struggles with learning to stand up to those things in life that scare us and accepting ourselves. Fin struggles with a lot of fear and anxiety and has developed a crutch in the form of magical tea in this magic town of Aldermere. Taking the tea fin can "forget" those fears and become brave, and she can better navigate the world.

What Left Me Wanting More: Backstory of how this magical town came into being. Unseen magic is lacking in the backstory of the creation of this town. The author does a great job of peeling back the layers of fin life toward the end and how she becomes so crippled in fear. Aldermere and its quirky rules, characters, and magic are just a given, and I like when I get the details about creating a magical place.

The Final Verdict: Unseen Magic is a middle-grade novel, so it tackles a typical issue we all deal with and makes it relatable to and fun to read. It opens doors for discussions about things that may be weighing down a younger reader and may give them a few more tools to navigate the world. A 3 star read as it was just ok and served its intended purpose.
Unseen Magic
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account