Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters

Featured
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 07, 2021
ISBN
9781338681604
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! A shiver-inducing collection of short stories to read under the covers, from a breadth of American Indian nations.
Dark figures in the night. An owl's cry on the wind. Monsters watching from the edge of the wood.

Some of the creatures in these pages might only have a message for you, but some are the stuff of nightmares. These thirty-two short stories -- from tales passed down for generations to accounts that could have happened yesterday -- are collected from the thriving tradition of ghost stories from American Indian cultures across North America. Prepare for stories of witches and walking dolls, hungry skeletons, La Llorona and Deer Woman, and other supernatural beings ready to chill you to the bone.

Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Ponca Nation) tells of his own encounters and selects his favorite spooky, eerie, surprising, and spine-tingling stories, all paired with haunting art by Weshoyot Alvitre (Tongva).

So dim the lights (or maybe turn them all on) and pick up a story...if you dare.

Editor review

1 review
Scary Stories with a Cultural Connection
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
This collection of short stories from a variety of Native American backgrounds is divided into five major categories; Ghosts, Spirits, Witches, Monsters, and the Supernatural, although there is understandably a lot of cross over between types of stories. All are labeled with the area of the US or the tribes from which the stories are gleaned, and SaSuWeh (from the Ponca Nation) tells many himself. Most are two to three pages long, and accompanied with large illustrations, so they do have a decided Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark vibe.

There is a lot of information about Native American culture shared along with the stories. For example, in The Deer Hunter, we see background on hunting, as well as how tribal medicine people dealt with the sickness of one of the characters in the story. In The Garage Sale, we learn about how personal possessions are important and intrinsically tied to the fates of their owners. The Boy Who Watched Over the Children discusses the tragedy of Indian Boarding Schools in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Jones also has a good introduction that explains how some tales were not meant to be widely shared, and how some characters were not meant to be named. Information about how the tales were collected is interesting as well.
Good Points
Weshoyot's black and white line illustrations are chilling, but also give a good sense of place. She does a particularly good job at portraying some of the monsters and animals, and these pictures add to the scary quality of the tales.

Like San Souci's Dare to Be Scared or Haunted Houses, this gives a variety of stories from difference backgrounds. Since they are all fairly short, this would make a good read aloud, especially if you wanted to highlight Native stories for National Native American Heritage Month in Novemember. It also makes a great addition to Folklore collections, where it is hard to find Native stories told by Native writers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account