Ghost Girl

Ghost Girl
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 10, 2021
ISBN
9780063044609
Buy This Book
      
Perfect for fans of Small Spaces and Nightbooks, Ally Malinenko’s middle-grade debut is an empowering and triumphant ghost story—with spooky twists sure to give readers a few good goosebumps!

Zee Puckett loves ghost stories. She just never expected to be living one.

It all starts with a dark and stormy night. When the skies clear, everything is different. People are missing. There’s a creepy new principal who seems to know everyone’s darkest dreams. And Zee is seeing frightening things: large, scary dogs that talk and maybe even . . . a ghost.

When she tells her classmates, only her best friend, Elijah, believes her. Worse, mean girl Nellie gives Zee a cruel nickname: Ghost Girl.

But whatever the storm washed up isn’t going away. Everyone’s most selfish wishes start coming true in creepy ways.

To fight for what’s right, Zee will have to embrace what makes her different and what makes her Ghost Girl. And all three of them—Zee, Elijah, and Nellie—will have to work together if they want to give their ghost story a happy ending.

Editor review

1 review
Spooky, friendship-themed read
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Zee loves telling stories, especially the spooky kind. That might be the reason why when she does start seeing strange things like scary hounds and ghosts, people aren’t eager to believe her. Branded the mean nickname “Ghost Girl” by Nellie, the most popular girl in school, Zee’s only true friend who believes her is Elijah. But as the weirdness amps up and the new school principal starts encouraging people to go for what they want (no matter the price), Zee, Elijah, and even Nellie will have to work together to save their town.

3 Reasons to Read GHOST GIRL:

1.) The super creepy villain: Principal Scratch is a shiver-inducing level of creepy. From his single red glove to his sinister smile to his dangerous rhetoric, he is a terrifying antagonist.

2.)The variety of family situations presented: No one family is the same in GHOST GIRL. Zee lives with her big sister while their father is away looking for work. Elijah has both his parents, but his mom is sick. Nellie seems to have the perfect everything, but you soon see her home life isn’t as perfect as it appears.

3.) The positive theme about working together to take down evil: No one person can solve a problem plaguing an entire community, but together, it can be done. Zee is far from eager to work with Nellie and doesn’t like how quickly Elijah is to trust her, but they need each other’s protection and friendship to fight the selfish evil draining the town.

GHOST GIRL is an ideal spooky, friendship-themed read for fans of Jodi Lynn Anderson’s THE MEMORY THIEF and Katherine Arden’s SMALL SPACES.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account