Salt Magic

Salt Magic
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 12, 2021
ISBN
978-0823450503
Buy This Book
      
When a jealous witch curses her family's well, it's up to Vonceil to set things right in an epic journey that will leave her changed forever.

When Vonceil's older brother, Elber, comes home to their family's Oklahoma farm after serving on the front lines of World War I, things aren't what she expects. His experiences have changed him into a serious and responsible man who doesn't have time for Vonceil anymore. He even marries the girl he had left behind.

Then a mysterious and captivating woman shows up at the farm and confronts Elber for leaving her in France. When he refuses to leave his wife, she puts a curse on the family well, turning the entire town's water supply into saltwater. Who is this lady dressed all in white, what has she done to the farm, and what does Vonceil's old uncle Dell know about her?

To find out, Vonceil will have to strike out on her own and delve deep into the world of witchcraft, confronting dangerous relatives, shapeshifting animals, a capricious Sugar Witch, and the Lady in White herself--the foreboding Salt Witch. The journey will change Vonceil, but along the way she'll learn a lot about love and what it means to grow up.


Hope Larson is the author and illustrator of the Eisner Award nominated All Summer Long and the illustrator of the Eisner Award winning A Wrinkle in Time: The Graphic Novel. Salt Magic is an utterly unique graphic fairy tale complete with striking illustrations by Rebecca Mock.

Editor review

1 review
Perfect for fans of “The Snow Queen” and COMPASS SOUTH
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
Vonceil’s brother, Elber, has returned from World War I, but he isn’t the same as before. He and Vonceil used to laugh and joke around together, but now, he’s serious and responsible. When he marries his sweetheart, Vonceil knows for sure that everything has changed. One day, a mysterious woman comes to town, claiming Elber broke her heart and abandoned her. When Elber refuses to go back to France with her, she curses their family well to produce on saltwater and leaves. Vonceil is determined to save their water and livelihood and runs away to confront the witch. Along the way, she will discover a world of magic and danger she never imagined.

3 Reasons to read SALT MAGIC:
1.) The fairy tale vibes and illustrations: SALT MAGIC has strong hints of “The Snow Queen,” and with the salt and sugar magic, has a unique fairy tale atmosphere. The beautiful illustrations, particularly involving the sugar witch, add to the magical feel. Illustrator Rebecca Mock has a gift for strong facial expressions and elegant fashion designs, especially in Greda.
2.) Morally gray characters: This is an excellent MG graphic novel to use as an example of morally gray characters. Elber, the big brother that Vonceil so admires, wasn’t faithful to his sweetheart during the war. Greda, the villainess, falls in love. No one is quite black and white in this story, and the characters feel all the more understandable because of it.
3.) The theme of being young and living in a time of change and uncertainty: Vonceil is living in a time right after a huge war, when her family is changing, a draught is oncoming, and all she wants is for things to stay the same and to have fun. She’s forced to confront change head on and grow up, even as she wants to resist.

With stunning illustration, fairy tale magic, and complex characters, SALT MAGIC is an adventurous tale perfect for fans of “The Snow Queen” and COMPASS SOUTH.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account