One Girl

One Girl
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 06, 2020
ISBN
978-1419719059
Buy This Book
      
A meditative picture book about the power of reading and how one child can change the world, from #1 bestselling author Andrea Beaty

One girl. One spark. Faint and fading in the dark.
Flicker . . . Flicker . . . Flicker . . . Glow. Tiny ember. Burning low.
Inspired by the global movement to empower girls through education, this lyrical story tells of one small girl who reads a book that lights a spark. She shares what she learns with her class, and the spark grows. The girl is then moved to write her own story, which she shares with girls around the globe, and it ignites a spark in them, lighting up the whole world. This heartwarming and moving narrative shows how books and education can inspire change and how one child can make a huge difference.

Editor review

1 review
Just One Spark
Overall rating
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
In very spare poetry, we see how the spark of a book encourages one girl to investigate the information in a book, to seek education, and to use the skills she obtains through study and reading to share this spark with others.
Good Points
The pages start with very dark tones, but soon brighten as the girl learns and grows. We see pictures of things she imagines set against a background of various rural and urban places. When she starts school, we see more and more characters, many of them children wearing school uniforms. These are all done in a very pleasant style that has a bit of an Eloise Wilkin vibe to it, but with more proportional (and more diverse!) faces.

The description of the book, and well as the note in the back, address the global problem of girls in education more than the actual text does, so this is more of an inspirational book than an informational one.

Hand this one to readers who enjoyed Rosenthal's Dear Girl, Harrison's Little Leaders, Harris' Ambitious Girl, or Phenomenal Woman for a nice dose of female empowerment and motivation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account