Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe

Featured
Nosotros Means Us: Un cuento bilingüe
Age Range
2+
Release Date
May 11, 2021
ISBN
978-0593305140
Buy This Book
      
A moving bilingual ode to the unshakeable bond between a parent and child in the tradition of Runaway Bunny and The Wonderful Things You Will Be.

If I were a sheep, you would be a lamb.
If I were a bear, you would be a cub.
As a mother holds her toddler, they muse over the way their love would translate if they were different animals. But no matter how they change, they will always be “us.” This bilingual story is a timeless ode to the unshakable bond between parent and child.

Si yo fuera una oveja, tú serías un cordero.
Si yo fuera una osa, tú serías un osenzo.
Con su niño en brazos, una madre contempla cómo sería elamorentre ellos si fueran diferentes animales. Pero por mucho que cambien,no importa. Siempre serán“nosotros”. Este cuento bilingüe es una oda eterna al lazo irrompibleentre madre e hijo.

Editor review

1 review
beautiful, bilingual picture book
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
NOSOTROS MEANS US is a beautiful bilingual picture book about the enduring and unconditional love between mother and child. The book is written like a poem, first saying that if the mother was an animal, such as a rabbit or mole, then the child would be a baby animal, such as bunny or pup. Then, the child will leave, and when they return, they will be changed into whatever they want to be - and their parent will have changed too. Readers are reminded that what doesn't change is that they will always be mother and child.

What I loved: The illustrations are simple but beautiful, conveying this story of love, filled with cute parent-child dyads and simple details. The text is also lovely to read aloud with a poetic feel, and the inclusion of both Spanish and English is fantastic. The length of the text would work for a wide variety of ages, and with some pages without any text, they can move as quickly as the reader would like. This would work for infants through elementary school aged picture book readers and would be great for Mother's Day. The reminder that, no matter what, the parent will always be there and will always be the child's parent is perfect.

Final verdict: Beautifully illustrated and with a message of love, this bilingual picture book is a fantastic choice for mothers and their little ones to share.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account