Secondhand Dogs

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
134 0
Secondhand Dogs
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 06, 2021
ISBN
978-0062989185
Buy This Book
      
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what it means to be part of a family—from author Carolyn Crimi, with adorable illustrations by Melissa Manwill. Perfect for fans of A Dog’s Life and Because of Winn-Dixie.

Miss Lottie’s home was for second chances.

When she adopted Gus, Roo, Tank, and Moon Pie, Miss Lottie rescued each member of the pack—including herself, her helper, Quinn, and her reclusive cat, Ghost—and turned them into a family. But when a new dog, Decker, arrives and tries to hoard Miss Lottie’s heart and home for himself, the pack’s future is threatened.

At first, Gus, the insecure pack leader, only notices little things, like tiny Moon Pie being kicked out of the bed and Ghost acting spooked (then again…Ghost is a cat). But things soon go from bad to worse as Decker’s presence causes disharmony in the group.

When Decker convinces Moon Pie to embark on an impossible journey, it’s up to Gus to gather his courage, rally his splintered pack, and bring the little dog home. And with coyotes and cars on the loose, the pack must push through obstacles and dangers to reunite with Moon Pie before he can get hurt—or, nearly as bad, get his heart broken.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Power Struggle in a Furever Home
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and protective bulldog Tank, and the newest addition, Moon Pie, whose owner, Gertie, has passed away. Neighbor Quinn, a tween whose father has passed away and whose family relationships are strained, helps take care of the dogs. There is also a very shy cat, Ghost, with whom Gus has arranged an uneasy détente. When Miss Lottie has the pack meet a new dog, shepherd/husky/Doberman mix Decker, Gus is worried. While Decker reminds Lottie of a childhood dog, Decker is a traumatized, controlling personality whose goal is to be the pack leader and slowly remove all of the other dogs! He manages to get into Lottie's bed, and displace Moon Pie, who is sure that he will soon be going home to Gertie's. Gertie, unfortunately, has passed away, and this is being kept from Moon Pie so as not to make him sad. Decker also has a confrontation with Tank during which he bites his own paw, causing Tank to be caged and leashed away from his friends. Roo has always thought Gus' leadership style was too weak, and starts to follow Decker around as though her were the pack leader. At the same time, Decker tells Moon Pie that he is the weakest member of the pack, and that the other dogs are lying to him. Gertie is at her home, Decker says, and Moon Pie should run away to find her. Ghost overhears this exchange, and tries to tell Gus, but finds it too difficult. Miss Lottie is devastated when she finds out about Moon Pie, and the dogs decide to run away to help find him. With a coyote roaming the neighborhood, this is dangerous for all of the dogs. Will they be able to find their friend and restore peace to their household?
Good Points
Secondhand Dogs has a well developed cast of characters and has the feel of Watership Down in its examination of power structure and group dynamics. Gus is a steady, thoughtful leader who is always motivated by kindness and the best interest of his pack. Tank is a gentle giant who makes sure that his mates feel secure. Roo is the loose cannon-- an excitable hunting dog who doesn't think things through. Moon Pie is sweet and trusting, and just wants to go back to his beloved human, Gertie. Ghost is the odd cat out, who seems to enjoy solitude until there is a chance to be included. Decker is evil on the surface, but improves once the humans understand what his motivations are and intervene. Caring for all of these dogs is Miss Lottie, whose story we don't fully understand until the end, and Quinn, whose work with the dogs helps him process problems in his own life.

As impressive as the character development is, younger readers will enjoy the plot, which is solid and fast moving. Decker's deviousness causes Moon Pie's departure, which has a ripple effect throughout the household. Encounters with rats and coyotes add to the excitement, and there's a little comic relief when Moon Pie is taken in by a woman who smell of "warm pudding and muffins", calls him "bunny-boo", and feeds him roast beef and mashed potatoes! The resolution is worked out well, with all of the animals and humans getting what they need to be happy and healthy.

Like Standish's Bad Bella, Cameron's A Dog's Purpose novels, and Ibbotson's One Boy and His Dog, Secondhand Dogs offers a look at the complex, codependent relationship that dogs and humans have. Readers who have had a dogs in their lives will connect to Gus' love of his pack, Miss Lottie's care of them, and Quinn's investment in an alternate family that ultimately helps him love his own.

I have to say that Moon Pie's love of popcorn and yearning for Gertie had me tearing up frequently; the first time I made popcorn, my new secondhand dog, Pongo, got very excited. His former owners, Bob and Peaches, passed away, and we decided that perhaps he had snuggled with them while enjoying a snack. Now, I make popcorn on the 24th of each month to celebrate my new little guy who, like Moon Pie, just wants to be near me at every moment, and will bark only if I don't give him enough attention the moment I get home from work.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Neighborhood Surprise
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the children in the neighborhood like Mrs. Fig. She...
Jet the Cat (Is Not a Cat)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jet is not like any other cat . . ....
Clique Here: A Wish Novel
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lily loves science and hanging out with her best friend,...
Smoke and Mirrors: The Heartstone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Corbin, a powerful shapeshifting young mage, was just beginning to...
Better Together
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap in New York Times...
Llama Llama Meets the Babysitter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
With over 30 million copies in print, Anna Dewdney's New...
City (Wheels at Work)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Delivering, collecting, transporting and recycling! Lift the flap to see...
A Season of Flowers
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Michael Garland (Daddy Played the Blues) displays his impressive illustration...
You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...

Latest Member Reviews

Rolling Warrior: The Incredible, Sometimes Awkward, True Story of a Rebel Girl on Wheels Who Helped Spark a Revolution
 
4.7
"Born in 1947, Heumann had polio at a very young age, leaving her legs and arms very weak. She was..."
Ghosts Unveiled! (Creepy and True #2)
 
5.0
"Ghosts are something that middle school students still think might be real; we have a lot of conversations about this..."
A Time of Fear: America in the Era of Red Scares and Cold War
 
4.3
"Starting with Vladimir Lenin's evolution in the early 1900s, Marrin gives a really complete overview of Communism and the reaction..."
El Deafo: Superpowered Edition
 
5.0
"This graphic novel memoir chronicles the author's experiences with hearing loss. After a childhood bout with meningitis at age 4,..."
City (Wheels at Work)
 
4.0
"WHEELS AT WORK: CITY is a simple but fun lift-the-flap book about vehicles little ones will see around the city...."
A Season of Flowers
 
4.3
"A SEASON OF FLOWERS is a lovely board book told from the perspective of flowers that appear from the spring..."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."
Treemendous: Diary of a Not Yet Mighty Oak
 
5.0
"A small acorn chronicles her life in diary format from her start to her twentieth year. We see how an..."
Unbound: The Life and Art of Judith Scott
 
4.3
"Bornin 1943, twins Judith and Joyce Scott were close. They played with dolls and tea sets, and had adventures outside...."
Just Pretend
 
4.3
"In this graphic memoir, we see Tori as she is going into 7th grade. She and her friend spend a..."
Everything You Need to Know When You Are 10
 
4.3
"This starts with a list of things every ten year old needs, like a library card, a calendar, and a..."
What's Up, Fire Truck? (A Pop Magic Book): Folds into a 3-D Truck!
 
3.7
"WHAT'S UP, FIRE TRUCK? is an innovative book design that includes lots of lift-the-flap pages and then folds into a..."
The Stuff Between the Stars
 
5.0
"The Stuff Between the Stars by Sandra Nickel is a beautifully illustrated biography of Vera Rubin, the woman astronomer credited..."
Flip Flap Snap: Farm
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Farm by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, will immediately engage young readers. While lifting the flaps..."
Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs
 
5.0
"Flip Flap Snap: Dinosaurs by Joanna McInerney, artwork by Carmen Saldaña, is an adorable book for young readers. While lifting..."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."