Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

Featured
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 04, 2020
ISBN
9780316493888
Buy This Book
      
A charming new middle-grade fantasy adventure, about a young witch whose pinch of magic just might be more than enough, perfect for fans of Kiki's Delivery Service and Aru Shah and the End of Time.

Sometimes all you need is a pinch of magic...

Eva Evergreen is determined to earn the rank of Novice Witch before she turns thirteen years old. If she doesn't, she'll lose her magic forever. For most young witches and wizards, it's a simple enough test:

ONE: Help your town, do good all around.
TWO: Live there for one moon, don't leave too soon.
THREE: Fly home by broomstick, the easiest of tricks.

The only problem? Eva only has a pinch of magic. She summons heads of cabbage instead of flowers and gets a sunburn instead of calling down rain. And to add insult to injury, whenever she overuses her magic, she falls asleep.

When she lands on the tranquil coastal town of Auteri, the residents expect a powerful witch, not a semi-magical girl. So Eva comes up with a plan: set up a magical repair shop to aid Auteri and prove she's worthy. She may have more blood than magic, but her "semi-magical fixes" repair the lives of the townspeople in ways they never could have imagined. Only, Eva's bit of magic may not be enough when the biggest magical storm in history threatens the town she's grown to love. Eva must conjure up all of the magic, bravery, and cleverness she can muster or Auteri and her dreams of becoming a witch will wash away with the storm.

Editor review

1 review
Adorable fantasy about the power of your own talents
Overall rating
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
N/A
Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the most renowned Grand Master witches, many would expect her to pass a Novice Quest easily. However, unlike her mother, Eva only has a pinch of magic. Using too much causes her to fall asleep or pass out. If she doesn't pass her Novice Quest, the Council of Witches and Wizards will have her magic removed completely. With increasing pressure, she journeys to Auteri, a coastal town known for its Festival of Lights, where she must "do good" for the length of one moon. In her case, doing good means protecting the whole town from a dangerous magical storm that could potentially hit them. With just a pinch of magic, a lot of cleverness, and several new friends, Eva will discover that her own power is perfect as is.

EVA EVERGREEN: SEMI-MAGICAL WITCH is one of the most heartwarming, utterly adorable middle grade fantasy books I've ever read. The comparison to Kiki's Delivery Service is perfection. EVA EVERGREEN is a story that will wrap you up in a warm hug and let you know it's okay to have a path that differs from what's expected or what's ideal.

Eva's journey is a perfect balance of character growth and intensifying external plot. Between the threats from the head of the Council to the horrifying Culling to the anxiety-inducing mayor, Eva is right in the middle of quite the pickle(s). However, Eva can't repair everything alone. An important theme in EVA EVERGREEN is the power of community. Eva has a rocky start with the townspeople, but she keeps going, eager to help and to fix any mistakes she makes, and always willing to keep trying. As she gains new friendships, it is their encouragement and belief in her that helps her believe in herself. When it comes time to prove herself at the end, it is only with the help of the whole community that she is able to do what needs to be done.

Brimming with magic, friendship, wonder, and a touch of whimsy, EVA EVERGREEN is an absolute delight that will capture the hearts of young readers and show them that you don't have to be the most magical or the most of anything. You only have to be yourself and be open to stepping outside the box.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account