Whispering Pines

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
332 0
Whispering Pines
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
September 01, 2020
ISBN
978-1534460478
Buy This Book
      
Rae’s father vanished without a trace—and Rae knows what happened to him. But no one believes her when she says that her father didn’t run off, that he was actually taken. Now, a year of therapy later, Rae’s mother decides they need a fresh start, and so they move to a new town in the hope that life can return to normal.

The problem is, there is nothing normal about the town of Whispering Pines.

No one knows this better than Caden. He’s lived in Whispering Pines his entire life, and he’s seen more than his fair share of weird—starting with his own family, as the town is the perfect home base for his mother’s ghost hunting business.

When several kids go missing and then show up like zombies with their eyes removed, many locals brush it off. Just another day in Whispering Pines. But Caden has a dark secret, one that may explain why someone is stealing eyes. And Rae, who knows how it feels to not be believed, may be just the person Caden needs to help him put things right.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

The eyes! The EYES!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
After Rae's father goes missing, her mother decides to move to a new town and start over. Rae thinks there is something sinister about the disappearance, and that it has something to do with his work as a scientist studying aliens, but both her mother and her older sister Ava don't want to hear her theories. Rae is glad when a next door neighbor, Brandi, is friendly right away, but is horrified when Brandi is brutally attacked. It turns out that many, many children are being attacked in Whispering Pines, and it's horrifying-- their eyes are removed, and they are psychologically destroyed. Caden knows about this all too well. His mother is a psychic who is often approached by the parents of missing children to get in contact with him, and his own brother, Aiden, has been missing for nine months. What his mother doesn't know is that Caden is responsible. The two had been dabbling in magic, summoning creatures from another plane of existence, and things went badly wrong. Other kids think Caden is "weird" because of his family and his habit of sprinking salt around houses to ward off evil, but Rae forms a bond with him. There's not just something weird in their town; there are LOTS of weird things. Between Green On, the energy company, whose representative seems creepy, and Dr. Anderson, Rae's therapist who seems to counsel all of the children who go missing, Rae and Caden know they need to get to the bottom of things before more children are damaged. With the help of classmates Alyssa and Vivienne, they try to decode the secrets of The Other Place and the horrifying presence of the Unseeing.
Good Points
Aside from the obvious attraction of demons ripping out people's eyes in the woods,(which a surprising amount of middle grade readers enjoy reading about) there's a lot of psychological horror in this-- parents not quite believing things are going wrong, which is scarier on a deeper level. I thought it was a great touch that Rae was able to make friends right away; it's a tired trope when main characters can't. Caden's position in school society is realistic, but again, it was nice that Rae befriended him despite his quirks. The adults all seem fairly untrustworthy, but some end up being really bad while others, like Caden's mom, are surprisingly supportive. Alyssa was an interesting character; mysterious, and I still don't know exactly what her motives are. Personally, my favorite part was that Rae ran cross country, although I was confused by try outs. Everyone always made our team, which is why at one point we had 75 runners! Definitely purchasing. Did I mention the murderous demons?

For readers who like more of a clue-oriented detective story, there is also a mystery with a missing father added to the creepiness of Whispering Pines.

My students ADORE creepy books. Demons who rip out people's eyes in the creepiest ways. Children chained to furnaces in basements. Magic spells that get kids in trouble. I've never seen Stranger Things, but will definitely hand this to students who are wearing t shirts from that show, as well as student who have enjoyed Hermon's Hide and Seeker, Currie's Scritch Scratch, and the works of K.R. Alexander and Joel Sutherland.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
"What worked: I loved this engaging, heart-felt story with one strong Chicanx protagonist. Think I'M NOT YOUR PERFECT MEXICAN DAUGHTER..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.3
"ALL OUR HIDDEN GIFTS was a riveting and darkly captivating YA fantasy/thriller/horror read. Maeve is a teen girl and not..."
The Lost Girls
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Outsiders
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
Twilight (Twilight #1)
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
 
5.0
KM kathy melnick
"BEST URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX/WIFE/HUSBAND BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR MARRIAGE NOW CONTACT LORD..."
For the Wolf (The Wilderwood, #1)
 
4.7
"FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the..."
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
"Simone's Haitian immigrant parents are very strict; she and her sister Anne have to go to an all girls school..."
Chasing Lucky
 
4.3
"Josie Saint-Martin and her mother have lived an itinerant lifestyle ever since they left the small Rhode Island seaside town..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
"Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke is Indiana Jones meets The Mummy (1999) and encompasses everything I..."
The Heartbreak Bakery
 
4.7
"Seventeen-year-old agender Syd loves baking, but when her brownies set off a string of breakups-including her own-she comes up with..."