Act (Click #3)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
97 0
Act (Click #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 21, 2020
ISBN
978-0358242185
Buy This Book
      
Olive is excited to start sixth grade: new teachers, new experiences, and a field trip to the big city with her best buds!

But when Olive finds out that a school policy is keeping some kids from going on the trip, she decides to act. She's prepared to do whatever it takes to be heard—even if it means running against Trent and Sawyer, two of her closest friends, in the student council election! With intense campaign competition and emotions running high, can Olive make a big change and keep her friends?

New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller crafts a genuine and inspiring story about evolving friendships, supportive family, and finding out that you—yes, you—have the power to make a difference.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Political Activism in Graphic Novel Format
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Olive is excited to go tot he city on a field trip to see a play and go back stage, but when she finds out that some students didn't go because they couldn't afford the $30, she wants to find a way to help. There is a student council election coming up, and her good friends Trent and Sawyer are running for office. Olive tries several ways to make a change at her school; she consults a trusted teacher, starts a petition that she hands in the the principal, and even tries a peacful protest with a sit in on the school lawn. None of these are successful, however, so she decides that she will also run for student council. She doesn't want to make her friends mad, but feels that the issues she wants to address are more important that the food in the cafeteria.
Good Points
This had attractive illustrations and colors, and Olive is a sympathetic character who is trying to make a difference in her community. This was an interesting twist on the classic school election story. I liked the "Odds and Ends" at the end of the book, which included a cookie recipe, information about different protests of the past, a bibliography of further reading, and instructions on how to draw characters from the book.

This is a great book for vicarious adventures--with the Covid-19 Pandemic, no one is traveling anywhere, and even before that, my school certainly never took any field trips. At least readers can go along with Olive, but the most likely solution to not excluding students from field trips because they can't afford them in most schools will probably just be no field trips.

The Click, Camp, Act, and upcoming Clash (7/26/21) books are popular with readers who like Jenny Holm, Raina Telgemeier, and the new books Allergic, by Natalie Lloyd and Twins by Varian Johnson.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty...
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Step into an opulent world filled with risk, romance,...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of...
American Betiya
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A luminous story of a young artist grappling with...
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
To save someone she loves from brutal murder, a...
A Red Sun Rises
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nine years ago, an unknown poison called the “Red” saturated...
The Story Blanket
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Babba Zarrah lives in a tiny village in the snow-covered...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Which side do you choose when your family is both...
Now That Night is Near
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's bedtime, and across the land everyone is settling down...
Mommy Loves You
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With heart-shaped lift-the-flaps and a surprise mirror at the end,...
Calm Bunny (Yoga Tots)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charming illustrations and step-by-step instructions take little ones through a...
The Problem with Pierre
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The differences between Bertram and his neighbor Alan were never...
Noisy Tractor (I Can Learn)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love to press the soft, silicone buttons on...
Broken Hearts of Queens (Book 1 from The Lost in Love Series)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Joy Luminieé, a scrappy teen from Queens, NY, can barely...
Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...

Latest Member Reviews

Black Canary: Breaking Silence
 
3.0
"Years ago, the Court of Owls overtook Gotham City, ending the reign of superheroes and creating a new Gotham built..."
American Betiya
 
5.0
"AMERICAN BETIYA is a breathtaking contemporary read about identity, family, and racism. Rani is an Indian American with dreams of..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
" The Story: Willow is a figure skater who has been sidelined from her team by an injury...."
Ravage the Dark (Scavenge the Stars, #2)
 
4.3
"RAVAGE THE DARK is a satisfying conclusion to a YA fantasy duology. In this sequel, we begin with Cayo, Amaya,..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"Thirteen-year-old Anamaria has an encounter from Thirty, a strange woman who insists she's from the future. Anamaria lives in Ciudad..."
Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."