Act (Click #3)

Featured
Act (Click #3)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 21, 2020
ISBN
978-0358242185
Buy This Book
      
Olive is excited to start sixth grade: new teachers, new experiences, and a field trip to the big city with her best buds!

But when Olive finds out that a school policy is keeping some kids from going on the trip, she decides to act. She's prepared to do whatever it takes to be heard—even if it means running against Trent and Sawyer, two of her closest friends, in the student council election! With intense campaign competition and emotions running high, can Olive make a big change and keep her friends?

New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Kayla Miller crafts a genuine and inspiring story about evolving friendships, supportive family, and finding out that you—yes, you—have the power to make a difference.

Editor review

1 review
Political Activism in Graphic Novel Format
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
Olive is excited to go tot he city on a field trip to see a play and go back stage, but when she finds out that some students didn't go because they couldn't afford the $30, she wants to find a way to help. There is a student council election coming up, and her good friends Trent and Sawyer are running for office. Olive tries several ways to make a change at her school; she consults a trusted teacher, starts a petition that she hands in the the principal, and even tries a peacful protest with a sit in on the school lawn. None of these are successful, however, so she decides that she will also run for student council. She doesn't want to make her friends mad, but feels that the issues she wants to address are more important that the food in the cafeteria.
Good Points
This had attractive illustrations and colors, and Olive is a sympathetic character who is trying to make a difference in her community. This was an interesting twist on the classic school election story. I liked the "Odds and Ends" at the end of the book, which included a cookie recipe, information about different protests of the past, a bibliography of further reading, and instructions on how to draw characters from the book.

This is a great book for vicarious adventures--with the Covid-19 Pandemic, no one is traveling anywhere, and even before that, my school certainly never took any field trips. At least readers can go along with Olive, but the most likely solution to not excluding students from field trips because they can't afford them in most schools will probably just be no field trips.

The Click, Camp, Act, and upcoming Clash (7/26/21) books are popular with readers who like Jenny Holm, Raina Telgemeier, and the new books Allergic, by Natalie Lloyd and Twins by Varian Johnson.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account