No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)

Featured
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
274 0
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
November 17, 2020
ISBN
978-0593175088
Buy This Book
      
Superheroes have it soooo easy. They don't have to clean their secret headquarters, wash alien bloodstains out of their costumes, or walk Super Mutt. NO! They leave that for their sidekicks, while they get all the credit.

Well, Junior Justice, aka J.J., has had ENOUGH! He thinks it's time the sidekicks made a team of their own. Dinomite and Flygirl are ready to join the team, but first they have to prove to the adult superheroes that they're more than just sidekicks. And once the evil Dr Enok discovers his favorite pet Goo has left him, the world might need saving sooner rather than later. . . .

Editor reviews

2 reviews
It's Time For the Sidekicks To Be the Heroes
Overall rating
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
5.0
This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung Than. Junior Justice, JJ for short, is tired of being mistreated by his superhero partner, so he decides to form his own league, the Super Sidekicks. Joined by Dinomite, Flygirl, and Goo, JJ and his new team must prove that they can be superheroes on their own, and their first mission is sooner than they thought.

Beautiful illustrations and an easy to follow plot are just a few of the reasons kids will be drawn to the story. The action and oftentimes funny scenes will keep them engaged. Parents will be happy with the positive themes of the book such as working as a team and standing up for what is right. My ten year old read the book in one sitting, not wanting to sit it down, and giggles were heard throughout the house as he read through the Super Sidekicks’ adventure.

Kids who enjoy Captain Underpants and The Bad Guys will enjoy Than’s illustrations and story. We are looking forward to book two Ocean’s Revenge.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Gooo-ing it on their own!
Overall rating
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable)
 
4.0
It's hard work being a super hero, but it's even harder work when you are the side kick to an unpleasant mentor! Junior Justice is tired of the vain Captain Perfect, who just has JJ do his laundry and other scut work. Flygirl is tired of the unpredictability of Rampaging Rita, and Dinomite is sick of being taken for granted by Blast Radius. Sure, he can change into the form of any dinosaur, but why isn't he appreciated for his degree in quantum physics and the fact that he speaks 47 languages. The three decide to set up their own group, but are joined by Goo, who is the sidekick of the very evil Dr. Enok. They are afraid of the galatinous mass at first, but he pleads his case that he is actually good and tired of being with his creator, who keeps him locked in a jar. The newly formed squad must deal with adversity before they can even create their super hero lair; their hero overlords want them back, and Dr. Enok is on the prowl to retrieve Goo. When the dust from the confrontations settles, will the Super Side Kicks be ready to battle the forces of evil on their own?
Good Points
With bright colors and sounds effects (ZZZAAAACK!) worthy of the 1960s television Batman program, No Adults Allowed is an impressive first book in a graphic novel series for middle grade and elementary readers. The words are well spaced on the page, often in white speech bubbles, and the illustrations are clear and lined in black. This sounds like a silly thing to say, but graphic novels are often beloved by struggling readers who have difficulties navigating the elements on the page, and Mr. Than did a great job at making each spread clear and accessible.

The storyline is also well delineated and easy to follow. The children are good, the superheroes are not great caretakers, and the children yearn to be free. They defeat Dr. Enok because they are on the side of right, and the rescue the mistreated Goo. I wasn't a huge fan of the truncated, baby talk style in which Goo spoke, but younger readers will find this more acceptable.

This Australian import (the side kicks resting place atop the Sydney Opera House was a good clue!) will be popular with younger readers who enjoyed Winnick's Halo series and Trine and Montijo's Melvin Beederman books, but is also a great choice for struggling middle school readers who are still enjoying Pilkey's Ricky Ricotta. I am looking forward to book two, Ocean's Revenge. (2021)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account